The Cawthron Institute Trust Board — Education Charity in Nelson
The Cawthron Institute Trust Board is a Trust charity in the Education sector, based in Nelson, Nelson. CharityData rates this charity B- (70.9/100). Annual revenue: $51.1M NZD. Financial data as at June 2026.
Mission: The advancement of science to benefit Te Tauihu and Aotearoa New Zealand, with a focus on natural resources.
- Registration Number
- CC23527
- Charity Type
- Trust
- Registration Date
- 2008-04-28
- Status
- Active
- CharityData Rating
- B- (70.9/100)
- Sector
- Education
- Location
- Nelson, Nelson
- dominic.bloomfield@cawthron.org.nz
- Data as at
- June 2026
Beneficiaries: General public
Financial Summary
- Total Revenue
- $51.1M NZD
- Total Expenses
- $50.9M NZD
- Total Assets
- $60.6M NZD
- Net Assets
- $38.6M NZD
- Reserve Months
- 2.1 months of operating expenses
- Staff Count
- 277
- Financial Year End
- 2026-06-30
Financial History
| Year | Revenue | Expenses | Net Assets |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | $51.1M | $50.9M | $38.6M |
| 2025 | $48.4M | $49.5M | $36.9M |
| 2024 | $46.6M | $48.3M | $38.0M |
| 2023 | $43.3M | $45.6M | $39.8M |
| 2022 | $43.2M | $44.0M | $38.1M |
| 2021 | $43.6M | $43.1M | $38.9M |
| 2020 | $45.1M | $43.3M | $36.6M |
| 2019 | $43.8M | $40.7M | $34.8M |
| 2018 | $35.2M | $31.5M | $31.7M |
| 2017 | $27.4M | $25.6M | $28.1M |
CharityData Rating
- Overall Grade
- B-
- Overall Score
- 70.9/100
- Financial Score
- 69.2
- Governance Score
- 75
- Transparency Score
- 65
Board Members and Officers
Current Officers (2)
| Name | Role | Appointed |
|---|---|---|
| Allan Freeth | Trustee | 2026-02-23 |
| Tom Williams | Trustee | 2026-02-23 |
Former Officers (33)
- Lindsay McKenzie — Chair
- Antonina Grant — Trustee
- Andrea Goodman — Trustee
- Naomi Solomon — Trustee
- Peter Crabtree — Trustee
- Nick Smith — Trustee
- Danette Olsen — Trustee (departed 2023-02-20)
- Rachel Boyack-Mayer — Trustee
- Jan Hania — Trustee (departed 2023-12-31)
- John Palmer — Chair (departed 2025-11-24)
- Tim King — Trustee
- Steve Maina-Mwangi — Trustee
- Helen Smale — Trustee (departed 2021-09-29)
- Bev Doole — Trustee (departed 2024-09-25)
- Sarah-Jane Weir — Trustee
- Pamela Williams — Trustee (departed 2020-09-30)
- Rachel Reese — Trustee (departed 2022-10-07)
- Nadine Tunley — Trustee (departed 2015-09-11)
- Aldo Miccio — Trustee (departed 2013-10-12)
- Peter Jerram — Trustee (departed 2017-09-15)
Executive Compensation
| Name | Role | Compensation | Year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grant McCallum | Chief Executive | - | 2024 |
| Peter Wilkinson | Trustee | - | 2024 |
| Nicola Crauford | Trustee | - | 2024 |
| Andrew Fearne | Trustee | - | 2022 |
| Craig Fearon | Trustee | - | 2022 |
| Grant McCallum | Chief Executive Officer | - | 2019 |
| Joanne Larson | Trustee | - | 2022 |
| Vern Kemp | Trustee | - | 2022 |
| Dr Graham Chilvers | Trustee | - | 2022 |
| Linda Jones | Trustee | - | 2022 |
| Peter McDonald | Trustee | - | 2022 |
| Dr Alison MacDiarmid | Trustee | - | 2024 |
| Dr Sarah Bevan | Trustee | - | 2022 |
| Grant McCallum | Chair | - | 2022 |
| John Hancock | Chief Executive Officer | - | 2022 |
| Peter Larsen | Trustee | - | 2019 |
| David Perera | Chair | - | 2022 |
| Matt Pomeroy | Trustee | - | 2019 |
| Dr Johanna Laybourn-Parry | Trustee | - | 2022 |
| Unknown | Trustee | - | 2025 |
| Dr Grant McCallum | Trustee | - | 2019 |
| Dr Vonda Croy | Trustee | - | 2019 |
| Paul Dalziel | Trustee | - | 2022 |
| Diane Lee | Chief Executive | - | 2022 |
| Alastair Dakin | Trustee | - | 2022 |
| Peter Lansley | Trustee | - | 2022 |
| Dr Leon Perrie | Chief Executive | - | 2022 |
| Ian Ruscoe | Trustee | - | 2022 |
| Dr Paul Gamlin | Board Chair | - | 2019 |
| Murray Jack | Trustee | - | 2019 |
| Andrew Jeffries | Trustee | - | 2022 |
| Jane Parfitt | Trustee | - | 2024 |
| John Gcruckshanks | Trustee | - | 2024 |
| Chris Dromgool | Trustee | - | 2019 |
| Dr Philip England | Chair | - | 2024 |
| Claire Jaquiery | Trustee | - | 2024 |
| Not disclosed in provided extract | Trust Board members | - | 2025 |
| Dr Judy Compton | Trustee | - | 2024 |
| Dr Marcus VanNistelrooy | Chief Executive Officer | - | 2024 |
| Shaun Ogilvie | Trustee | - | 2019 |
| Geoff Walls | Trustee | - | 2024 |
| Murray Jagger | Chair | - | 2019 |
| Catherine Love | Chief Executive Officer | - | 2024 |
| Not provided in available sections | Trust Board members | - | 2025 |
| Dr John Illingworth | Trustee | - | 2024 |
| John Roche | Chair | - | 2022 |
| James Sinner | Trustee | - | 2022 |
| Steve Goldson | Trustee | - | 2024 |
| Peter Lansley | Trustee | - | 2024 |
| Michael Abela | Trustee | - | 2022 |
| Dr Grant McCallum | Chief Executive Officer | - | 2024 |
| Craig Craw | Chair | - | 2024 |
| Fiona Macalister | Trustee | - | 2022 |
| Unknown - Chair | Chair | - | 2025 |
| Kay Gould | Trustee | - | 2022 |
| Dr Aidan Darragh | Trustee | - | 2019 |
| Dr Andrew Jeffs | Trustee | - | 2024 |
| Felicity Frizelle | Trustee | - | 2024 |
| John Suyker | Trustee | - | 2024 |
| John Illingworth | Trustee | - | 2022 |
| Dr Brian Smith | Chair | - | 2024 |
| Dr Paul Dyer | Chair | - | 2022 |
| Dr Corin Dann | Trustee | - | 2022 |
| Dr Vonda Hammond | Trustee | - | 2022 |
| Dr David Schiel | Chief Executive | - | 2022 |
| Ngaire Lydia | Trustee | - | 2024 |
| Andrew Grainger | Trustee | - | 2024 |
| Gareth Harmsworth | Chief Executive Officer | - | 2019 |
| Dr William (Bill) Ballantine | Deputy Chair | - | 2024 |
| Dr John Ruru | Trustee | - | 2024 |
Funding Sources
- Simplicity Foundation — $5,000
Service Providers
- Phil Sinclair
- Bank of New Zealand
Similar Charities in Education
- The Hato Paora Trust Board — Education
- Otago Presbyterian Girls' College Board of Governors Incorporated — Education
- Hawksbury Community Living Trust — Education
- Far North Reap Society Incorporated — Education
- Victoria University of Wellington Students Association and Te Aka Tauira Incorporated — Education
The Cawthron Institute Trust Board
Financial data as at June 2026. Sourced from Charities Services register.
$51.1M
$50.9M
$60.6M
277
Financial data from Charities Services annual return (FY2026). Ratings calculated using CharityData v3.1.1 methodology.
Reporting group parent. The Cawthron Institute Trust Board files one consolidated annual return covering 1 member. Member-level figures are not separately reported with Charities Services.
Show member charities (1)
About
The advancement of science to benefit Te Tauihu and Aotearoa New Zealand, with a focus on natural resources.
Who We Serve
Key Statistics
Financial Trends
Financial Trends (18 Years)
Revenue Breakdown
Expense Breakdown
API DataBased on annual return data. Detailed program/admin breakdown not available.
Financial Health Dashboard
Based on latest annual return data. Metrics are calculated from reported financial data and may not reflect the full picture. View methodology
Revenue Diversification
HHI (Herfindahl–Hirschman Index) measures concentration across 6 income categories. Lower HHI = more diversified. Score above 60 indicates healthy diversification.
Peer Comparison
Ranked against 500 peers · Education (all sizes)
Top Peers in Group
Peers are charities in the same sector and revenue size band. Rankings are based on the latest available data.
Rating History
Rating
B-Is this your charity?
Claim your profile to view analytics, submit corrections, and improve your rating.
Claim This ProfileContact Details
Registration
Sector & Activities
Data sourced from Charities Services register and publicly available annual returns. Our datasets may not be complete. Automated analysis can produce errors. Scores are calculated using disclosed methodology and are analytical tools, not investment ratings or recommendations. If you believe any data on this page is incorrect, please contact us at hello@charitydata.co.nz. For informational purposes only. Not investment advice. Last updated: 28 September 2026.
Similar Charities in Education
Other Education charities ranked by overall score