# Youth Alive Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC20229
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2007-12-11
**Sector:** Social Services
**ICNPO group:** Social Services
**Region:** Christchurch
**NZBN:** 9429042921820
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Building brighter futures with young people on the east of Christchurch

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Reports under the Tier 3/4 regime with limited disclosure and no detected red flags.
- **Status code:** `limited_disclosure`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-12-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$1.22M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$1.40M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-178k
- **Total assets:** NZ$2.43M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$325k
- **Net assets:** NZ$2.11M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$63k
- **Government grants:** NZ$515k (42.0% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$167k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$1.02M
- **Paid staff:** 18
- **Reporting tier:** Tier3
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=41a83d2a-d8e6-f011-bb4e-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-31 | NZ$1.22M | NZ$1.40M | NZ$-178k | NZ$2.11M |
| 2024-12-31 | NZ$1.15M | NZ$1.41M | NZ$-257k | NZ$2.25M |
| 2023-12-31 | NZ$997k | NZ$1.28M | NZ$-278k | NZ$952k |
| 2022-12-31 | NZ$984k | NZ$1.17M | not disclosed | NZ$2.60M |
| 2021-12-31 | NZ$1.08M | NZ$1.30M | not disclosed | NZ$2.98M |
| 2020-12-31 | NZ$1.31M | NZ$1.25M | not disclosed | NZ$3.16M |
| 2019-12-31 | NZ$948k | NZ$1.02M | not disclosed | NZ$3.01M |
| 2018-12-31 | NZ$1.38M | NZ$670k | not disclosed | NZ$3.08M |
| 2017-12-31 | NZ$503k | NZ$558k | not disclosed | NZ$2.37M |
| 2016-12-31 | NZ$526k | NZ$485k | not disclosed | NZ$2.32M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 5 current (14 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Auditor:** Smith and Jack Limited
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC20229) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Kiwi Gaming Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$45k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Pub Charity Limited** (foundation) — NZ$26k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Aotearoa Gaming Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$16k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **New Zealand Community Trust** (foundation) — NZ$10k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Air Rescue Services Limited** (foundation) — NZ$7k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$6k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **The Trusts Community Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$5k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Trillian Trust** (foundation) — NZ$2k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-23
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-29

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/youth-alive-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/youth-alive-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/youth-alive-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC20229

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/youth-alive-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-29T04:24:52.816Z.