# Women's Refuge Manawatū Incorporated

**Charities Register number:** CC40928
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2009-06-17
**Sector:** Social Services
**ICNPO group:** Social Services
**Region:** Palmerston North
**NZBN:** 9429042819561
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To support Women and their Children within the Manawatu, Tararua and Horowhenua areas whose lives are or have been affected by family violence and to provide Transitional Housing Services

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — The charity type has not been classified yet, so no scoring template applies and the grade is withheld.
- **Status code:** `unclassified`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$2.14M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$1.94M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$199k
- **Total assets:** NZ$2.46M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$103k
- **Net assets:** NZ$2.36M
- **Government grants:** NZ$1.74M (81.2% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$56k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$1.52M
- **Paid staff:** 18
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=3ddd7f5b-4d56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$2.14M | NZ$1.94M | NZ$199k | NZ$2.36M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$2.35M | NZ$1.93M | NZ$421k | NZ$2.16M |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$2.14M | NZ$1.73M | not disclosed | NZ$1.74M |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$2.03M | NZ$1.58M | not disclosed | NZ$1.33M |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$1.62M | NZ$1.59M | not disclosed | NZ$883k |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$1.37M | NZ$1.17M | not disclosed | NZ$858k |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$1.31M | NZ$1.11M | not disclosed | NZ$660k |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$1.14M | NZ$954k | not disclosed | NZ$463k |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$732k | NZ$755k | not disclosed | NZ$209k |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$654k | NZ$551k | not disclosed | NZ$232k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 4 current (16 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Auditor:** AuditLink
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC40928) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-12
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-12
- This document generated: 2026-09-13

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/womens-refuge-manawatu-incorporated
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/womens-refuge-manawatu-incorporated/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/womens-refuge-manawatu-incorporated/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC40928

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/womens-refuge-manawatu-incorporated. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-13T20:44:08.915Z.