# Wharewaka O Poneke Charitable Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC40348
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2009-05-25
**Sector:** Arts & Culture
**ICNPO group:** Culture and Recreation
**Region:** Wellington
**NZBN:** 9429043182299
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To provide an expression of Maori Art and culture in the Wellington Reigon

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Reports under the Tier 3/4 regime with limited disclosure and no detected red flags.
- **Status code:** `limited_disclosure`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$669k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$559k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$109k
- **Total assets:** NZ$11.47M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$6.71M
- **Net assets:** NZ$4.75M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$315k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$352k
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=5b438ce5-c70e-f011-bb41-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-03-31 | NZ$669k | NZ$559k | NZ$109k | NZ$4.75M |
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$1.73M | NZ$1.66M | NZ$73k | NZ$5.11M |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$1.29M | NZ$1.26M | not disclosed | NZ$11.16M |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$763k | NZ$1.09M | not disclosed | NZ$5.01M |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$727k | NZ$618k | not disclosed | NZ$5.34M |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$842k | NZ$841k | not disclosed | NZ$5.47M |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$1.05M | NZ$1.26M | not disclosed | NZ$5.69M |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$1.09M | NZ$1.21M | not disclosed | NZ$5.92M |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$921k | NZ$907k | not disclosed | NZ$6.57M |
| 2016-03-31 | NZ$274k | NZ$363k | not disclosed | NZ$6.32M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 6 current (24 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Auditor:** Crowe New Zealand Audit Partnership
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC40348) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **The Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$20k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/wharewaka-o-poneke-charitable-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/wharewaka-o-poneke-charitable-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/wharewaka-o-poneke-charitable-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC40348

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/wharewaka-o-poneke-charitable-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T17:00:20.889Z.