# West Auckland Hospice

**Charities Register number:** CC27137
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** Auckland
**NZBN:** 9429042839996
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Hospice West Auckland exists so that people with life limiting illness in the greater West Auckland area ,those at the end of life and those who grieve for them ,experience death as a dignified and compassionately supported process. Hospice West Auckland also supports health professional colleagues with training and advisory services.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** C (60.0 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 55/100
- **Governance:** 75/100
- **Transparency:** 85/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 1
  - trustees holding many concurrent board roles

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$5.73M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$261k
- **Surplus / deficit:** not disclosed
- **Total assets:** NZ$7.54M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$1.15M
- **Net assets:** NZ$6.38M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$716k
- **Government grants:** NZ$4.73M (82.6% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$1.38M
- **Paid staff:** 119
- **Volunteers:** 11

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$5.73M | NZ$261k | not disclosed | NZ$6.38M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$4.53M | NZ$202k | not disclosed | NZ$4.97M |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$4.84M | NZ$2.99M | not disclosed | NZ$5.00M |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$8.60M | NZ$2.76M | not disclosed | NZ$7.84M |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$7.90M | NZ$2.37M | not disclosed | NZ$7.34M |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$6.79M | NZ$2.12M | not disclosed | NZ$5.82M |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$6.78M | NZ$2.30M | not disclosed | NZ$5.18M |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$6.23M | NZ$2.31M | not disclosed | NZ$4.57M |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$2.95M | NZ$1.86M | not disclosed | NZ$4.43M |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$2.87M | NZ$1.87M | not disclosed | NZ$4.35M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 8 current (29 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Paid executives disclosed:** 4
- **Executive remuneration bands:** NZ$500k+
- **Auditor:** BDO
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC27137) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **The North and South Trust Limited** (foundation) — NZ$161k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **The Trusts Community Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$130k, year ended 2023-12-31
- **Grassroots Trust Limited** (foundation) — NZ$91k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Four Winds Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$89k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **New Zealand Community Trust** (foundation) — NZ$70k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Dragon Community Trust** (foundation) — NZ$35k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Trillian Trust** (foundation) — NZ$25k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Pub Charity Limited** (foundation) — NZ$15k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Blue Sky Community Trust** (foundation) — NZ$8k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Service providers

- BDO — auditor

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/west-auckland-hospice
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/west-auckland-hospice/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/west-auckland-hospice/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC27137

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/west-auckland-hospice. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T18:17:56.450Z.