# Wellington Study Group Incorporated

**Charities Register number:** CC38768
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Wellington
**NZBN:** 9429042916772
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

a) To inquire into the nature of the human being and the universe so as to enable greater expression of the possibilities of every man and woman. b) To disseminate by all lawful means, knowledge of the matters referred to above. c) To promote any art or science, and to produce, print, publish and circulate any periodicals, books, and works of art. d) To organise a Study Group for the furtherance of these objects, such Study Group to be known as the Wellington Study Group.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** B- (73.3 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 72.5/100
- **Governance:** 75/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-12 (methodology 3.8)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-12-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$123k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$103k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$20k
- **Total assets:** NZ$3.33M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$5k
- **Net assets:** NZ$3.33M
- **Donations:** NZ$835
- **Staff costs:** NZ$12k
- **Reporting tier:** Tier3

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-31 | NZ$123k | NZ$103k | NZ$20k | NZ$3.33M |
| 2024-12-31 | NZ$147k | NZ$93k | NZ$54k | NZ$3.31M |
| 2023-12-31 | NZ$98k | NZ$117k | NZ$-19k | NZ$2.82M |
| 2022-12-31 | NZ$74k | NZ$113k | not disclosed | NZ$3.93M |
| 2021-12-31 | NZ$72k | NZ$111k | not disclosed | NZ$3.97M |
| 2020-12-31 | NZ$77k | NZ$124k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2019-12-31 | NZ$81k | NZ$122k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2018-12-31 | NZ$72k | NZ$74k | not disclosed | NZ$2.10M |
| 2017-12-31 | NZ$222k | NZ$58k | not disclosed | NZ$2.10M |
| 2016-12-31 | NZ$108k | NZ$90k | not disclosed | NZ$1.94M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 6 current (17 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC38768) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-11
- Rating: computed 2026-09-12
- This document generated: 2026-09-12

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/wellington-study-group-incorporated
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/wellington-study-group-incorporated/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/wellington-study-group-incorporated/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC38768

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/wellington-study-group-incorporated. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-12T11:01:22.894Z.