# Waikato Community Broadcasting Charitable Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC27330
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Hamilton
**NZBN:** 9429042883234
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Community Access media training and delivery

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Reports under the Tier 3/4 regime with limited disclosure and no detected red flags.
- **Status code:** `limited_disclosure`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 1
  - trustees holding many concurrent board roles

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2026-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$644k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$621k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$23k
- **Total assets:** NZ$437k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$168k
- **Net assets:** NZ$269k
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$70k
- **Government grants:** NZ$477k (74.1% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$0
- **Staff costs:** NZ$325k
- **Paid staff:** 6
- **Reporting tier:** Tier3
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=b2b9f193-1c75-f111-bb55-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-06-30 | NZ$644k | NZ$621k | NZ$23k | NZ$269k |
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$624k | NZ$609k | NZ$15k | NZ$246k |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$602k | NZ$632k | NZ$-30k | NZ$196k |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$642k | NZ$627k | not disclosed | NZ$226k |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$569k | NZ$567k | not disclosed | NZ$211k |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$530k | NZ$494k | not disclosed | NZ$210k |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$465k | NZ$450k | not disclosed | NZ$173k |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$423k | NZ$446k | not disclosed | NZ$158k |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$477k | NZ$457k | not disclosed | NZ$182k |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$443k | NZ$426k | not disclosed | NZ$161k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 6 current (19 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Auditor:** Owen McLeod & Co Limited
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC27330) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$8k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **The Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$3k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-27
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-27
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-29

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/waikato-community-broadcasting-charitable-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/waikato-community-broadcasting-charitable-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/waikato-community-broadcasting-charitable-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC27330

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/waikato-community-broadcasting-charitable-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-29T10:57:03.084Z.