# University Of Otago Foundation Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC20440
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-01-09
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Dunedin
**NZBN:** 9429043207688
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

The advancement of knowledge and sound learning; the dissemination and maintenance of knowledge and sound learning including through teaching and research; the carrying on of any other charitable object which may seem to the Trustees capable of being conveniently carried on or calculated directly or indirectly to advance the objects of the Deed, provided that all funds expended must be for or lead to public benefit in New Zealand;

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** B (79.0 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 95/100
- **Governance:** 75/100
- **Transparency:** 85/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 1
  - trustees holding many concurrent board roles

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-12-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$32.26M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$14.27M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$17.99M
- **Total assets:** NZ$316.27M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$1.18M
- **Net assets:** NZ$315.09M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$19.99M
- **Government grants:** NZ$0 (0.0% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$4.66M
- **Staff costs:** NZ$0
- **Reporting tier:** Tier2
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=e5de3930-d8e6-f011-bb4e-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-31 | NZ$32.26M | NZ$14.27M | NZ$17.99M | NZ$315.09M |
| 2024-12-31 | NZ$35.95M | NZ$13.00M | NZ$22.95M | NZ$297.10M |
| 2023-12-31 | NZ$32.21M | NZ$12.13M | not disclosed | NZ$274.15M |
| 2022-12-31 | NZ$41.77M | NZ$61.15M | not disclosed | NZ$254.07M |
| 2021-12-31 | NZ$31.10M | NZ$11.64M | not disclosed | NZ$273.46M |
| 2020-12-31 | NZ$24.07M | NZ$12.82M | not disclosed | NZ$254.00M |
| 2019-12-31 | NZ$47.77M | NZ$11.33M | not disclosed | NZ$242.75M |
| 2018-12-31 | NZ$6.37M | NZ$11.47M | not disclosed | NZ$206.30M |
| 2017-12-31 | NZ$28.81M | NZ$11.29M | not disclosed | NZ$211.39M |
| 2016-12-31 | NZ$13.62M | NZ$10.58M | not disclosed | NZ$193.88M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 8 current (25 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Paid executives disclosed:** 7
- **Executive remuneration bands:** under NZ$100k
- **Auditor:** Audit NZ
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC20440) and on the charity's profile page.

## Service providers

- Audit NZ — auditor

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-23
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-13
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-27

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/university-of-otago-foundation-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/university-of-otago-foundation-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/university-of-otago-foundation-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC20440
- Charity website: http://www.otago.ac.nz

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/university-of-otago-foundation-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-27T17:08:16.753Z.