# University of Canterbury Students Association Incorporated

**Charities Register number:** CC10045
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2007-03-08
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Christchurch
**NZBN:** 9429042877523
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Provides services to students of The University of Canterbury

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** B- (72.8 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 71.8/100
- **Governance:** 75/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-10-01 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-12-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$20.90M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$22.16M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-1.26M
- **Total assets:** NZ$19.29M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$6.28M
- **Net assets:** NZ$13.01M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$792k
- **Government grants:** NZ$0 (0.0% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$618
- **Staff costs:** NZ$9.99M
- **Paid staff:** 291
- **Reporting tier:** Tier2
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=03e93d24-d8e6-f011-bb4e-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-31 | NZ$20.90M | NZ$22.16M | NZ$-1.26M | NZ$13.01M |
| 2024-12-31 | NZ$23.94M | NZ$24.26M | NZ$-318k | NZ$14.26M |
| 2023-12-31 | NZ$19.88M | NZ$20.27M | NZ$-391k | NZ$14.58M |
| 2022-12-31 | NZ$14.73M | NZ$15.05M | not disclosed | NZ$14.97M |
| 2021-12-31 | NZ$12.51M | NZ$13.24M | not disclosed | NZ$15.39M |
| 2020-12-31 | NZ$9.63M | NZ$9.69M | not disclosed | NZ$16.13M |
| 2019-12-31 | NZ$10.00M | NZ$9.98M | not disclosed | NZ$16.17M |
| 2018-12-31 | NZ$12.21M | NZ$11.45M | not disclosed | NZ$15.94M |
| 2017-12-31 | NZ$15.47M | NZ$12.39M | not disclosed | NZ$15.16M |
| 2016-12-31 | NZ$11.35M | NZ$11.75M | not disclosed | NZ$12.05M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 15 current (229 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Auditor:** BDO
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC10045) and on the charity's profile page.

## Service providers

- BDO — auditor

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-10-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-13
- Rating: computed 2026-10-01
- This document generated: 2026-10-01

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/university-of-canterbury-students-association-incorporated
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/university-of-canterbury-students-association-incorporated/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/university-of-canterbury-students-association-incorporated/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC10045

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/university-of-canterbury-students-association-incorporated. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-10-01T23:58:56.599Z.