# University of Auckland

**Charities Register number:** CC20421
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-01-08
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Auckland
**NZBN:** 9429041925300
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

The University was established as a university by section 3 of the University of Auckland Act 1961 (UOA Act) for the advancement of knowledge and the dissemination and maintenance thereof by teaching and research. The University is treated as having been established as an institution under section 268 of the Education and Training Act 2020 (ETA) and is a body corporate with perpetual succession.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** B (76.5 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 100/100
- **Governance:** 55/100
- **Transparency:** 85/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 1
  - trustees holding many concurrent board roles

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-12-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$1.55B
- **Total expenses:** NZ$1.51B
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$36.75M
- **Total assets:** NZ$5.40B
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$794.96M
- **Net assets:** NZ$4.61B
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$38.29M
- **Government grants:** NZ$547.82M (35.4% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$13.47M
- **Staff costs:** NZ$786.28M
- **Paid staff:** 8818
- **Reporting tier:** Tier1
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=c7dd3930-d8e6-f011-bb4e-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-31 | NZ$1.55B | NZ$1.51B | NZ$36.75M | NZ$4.61B |
| 2024-12-31 | NZ$1.48B | NZ$1.47B | NZ$7.88M | NZ$4.57B |
| 2023-12-31 | NZ$1.49B | NZ$1.40B | NZ$92.23M | NZ$3.85B |
| 2022-12-31 | NZ$1.35B | NZ$1.23B | not disclosed | NZ$3.83B |
| 2021-12-31 | NZ$1.28B | NZ$1.18B | not disclosed | NZ$3.72B |
| 2020-12-31 | NZ$1.23B | NZ$1.22B | not disclosed | NZ$3.49B |
| 2019-12-31 | NZ$1.19B | NZ$1.14B | not disclosed | NZ$3.15B |
| 2018-12-31 | NZ$1.14B | NZ$1.09B | not disclosed | NZ$2.95B |
| 2017-12-31 | NZ$1.07B | NZ$1.03B | not disclosed | NZ$2.68B |
| 2016-12-31 | NZ$1.02B | NZ$970.86M | not disclosed | NZ$2.66B |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 19 current (91 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Paid executives disclosed:** 29
- **Executive remuneration bands:** NZ$200k–300k, NZ$500k+
- **Auditor:** Ernst & Young
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC20421) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Buchanan Charitable Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$467k, year ended 2023-06-30
- **Buchanan Charitable Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$467k, year ended 2024-06-30

## Service providers

- KPMG — auditor

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-23
- Financials: last updated 2026-06-07
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/university-of-auckland
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/university-of-auckland/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/university-of-auckland/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC20421

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/university-of-auckland. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T06:14:04.239Z.