# Tira Tūhāhā Prison Chaplaincy Aotearoa

**Charities Register number:** CC24724
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-05-22
**Sector:** Religion
**ICNPO group:** Religion
**Region:** Wellington
**NZBN:** 9429043072347
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Provide religious and spiritual services to prisoners in New Zealand prisons. Being the HOPE and LOVE that transforms lives. Haere mai ana koutou ki ahua

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — The charity type has not been classified yet, so no scoring template applies and the grade is withheld.
- **Status code:** `unclassified`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$3.16M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$3.02M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$134k
- **Total assets:** NZ$1.28M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$158k
- **Net assets:** NZ$1.12M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$1.18M
- **Government grants:** NZ$2.92M (92.6% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$11k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$2.73M
- **Paid staff:** 48
- **Volunteers:** 9
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=911202eb-4a56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$3.16M | NZ$3.02M | NZ$134k | NZ$1.12M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$3.16M | NZ$3.12M | NZ$38k | NZ$989k |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$2.94M | NZ$2.91M | not disclosed | NZ$951k |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$2.92M | NZ$3.03M | not disclosed | NZ$926k |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$2.99M | NZ$2.95M | not disclosed | NZ$1.04M |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$2.62M | NZ$2.45M | not disclosed | NZ$997k |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$2.64M | NZ$2.45M | not disclosed | NZ$827k |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$2.40M | NZ$2.13M | not disclosed | NZ$635k |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$2.25M | NZ$2.06M | not disclosed | NZ$363k |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$2.18M | NZ$2.21M | not disclosed | NZ$166k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 10 current (40 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC24724) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-11
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-11
- This document generated: 2026-09-11

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/tira-tuhaha-prison-chaplaincy-aotearoa
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/tira-tuhaha-prison-chaplaincy-aotearoa/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/tira-tuhaha-prison-chaplaincy-aotearoa/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC24724
- Charity website: http://www.prisonchaplaincy.co.nz

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/tira-tuhaha-prison-chaplaincy-aotearoa. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-11T17:51:32.860Z.