# The Wellington Boys and Girls Institute Incorporated

**Charities Register number:** CC25099
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-05-31
**Sector:** Community Development
**ICNPO group:** Development and Housing
**Region:** Wellington
**NZBN:** 9429042894728
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Helping young people in the community build strong, healthy and life-long relationships with their families and peers, while developing other necessary life skills such as effective leadership and communication.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — The charity type has not been classified yet, so no scoring template applies and the grade is withheld.
- **Status code:** `unclassified`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 1
  - trustees holding many concurrent board roles

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$1.34M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$1.79M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-458k
- **Total assets:** NZ$9.97M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$524k
- **Net assets:** NZ$9.44M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$22k
- **Government grants:** NZ$683k (51.1% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$89k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$1.31M
- **Paid staff:** 25
- **Volunteers:** 1
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=9e23fff0-4a56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$1.34M | NZ$1.79M | NZ$-458k | NZ$9.44M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$1.61M | NZ$1.76M | NZ$-142k | NZ$9.51M |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$1.12M | NZ$1.46M | not disclosed | NZ$9.79M |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$1.19M | NZ$1.53M | not disclosed | NZ$9.78M |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$1.49M | NZ$1.38M | not disclosed | NZ$10.89M |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$1.30M | NZ$1.35M | not disclosed | NZ$9.99M |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$1.14M | NZ$1.14M | not disclosed | NZ$10.17M |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$1.21M | NZ$1.10M | not disclosed | NZ$9.63M |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$1.24M | NZ$1.17M | not disclosed | NZ$8.90M |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$1.91M | NZ$1.18M | not disclosed | NZ$8.66M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 6 current (19 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Auditor:** Forbes Audit & Accoutning Ltd
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC25099) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **New Zealand Community Trust** (foundation) — NZ$11k, year ended 2023-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-10-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-10-01
- This document generated: 2026-10-05

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/the-wellington-boys-and-girls-institute-incorporated
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/the-wellington-boys-and-girls-institute-incorporated/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/the-wellington-boys-and-girls-institute-incorporated/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC25099

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/the-wellington-boys-and-girls-institute-incorporated. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-10-05T06:44:10.855Z.