# The University of Waikato Foundation

**Charities Register number:** CC29545
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Hamilton
**NZBN:** 9429042890058
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To provide fundraising services for the benefit of the University of Waikato and for the promotion of education in its widest sense.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — This charity is not currently rated.
- **Status code:** `group_member`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2023-12-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$3.53M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$64k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$3.47M
- **Total assets:** NZ$15.36M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$121k
- **Net assets:** NZ$15.24M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$1.23M
- **Donations:** NZ$1.81M
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=e94a680e-6ca8-ee11-bb2a-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023-12-31 | NZ$3.53M | NZ$64k | NZ$3.47M | NZ$15.24M |
| 2022-12-31 | NZ$1.76M | NZ$1.72M | not disclosed | NZ$13.21M |
| 2021-12-31 | NZ$4.56M | not disclosed | not disclosed | NZ$14.20M |
| 2020-12-31 | NZ$1.75M | NZ$75k | not disclosed | NZ$10.64M |
| 2019-12-31 | NZ$2.20M | NZ$19k | not disclosed | NZ$9.57M |
| 2018-12-31 | NZ$1.79M | NZ$18k | not disclosed | NZ$8.56M |
| 2017-12-31 | NZ$2.49M | NZ$17k | not disclosed | NZ$7.43M |
| 2016-12-31 | NZ$2.52M | NZ$15k | not disclosed | NZ$5.85M |
| 2015-12-31 | NZ$1.60M | NZ$12k | not disclosed | NZ$5.03M |
| 2014-12-31 | NZ$2.31M | NZ$9k | NZ$2.31M | NZ$4.15M |

## Group consolidated filing

This charity is part of **University of Waikato Group**, which files a consolidated return. For the year ended 2025-12-31 the group reported revenue of NZ$387.95M and expenses of NZ$365.65M.

Where a member files an empty individual return, the group figures are where the activity sits.

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 4 current (27 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC29545) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-10-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-04-28
- Rating: computed 2026-10-01
- This document generated: 2026-10-03

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/the-university-of-waikato-foundation
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/the-university-of-waikato-foundation/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/the-university-of-waikato-foundation/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC29545

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/the-university-of-waikato-foundation. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-10-03T14:23:32.641Z.