# The Taupo Budget Advisory Service Incorporated

**Charities Register number:** CC23513
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-04-28
**Sector:** Social Services
**ICNPO group:** Social Services
**Region:** Taupō
**NZBN:** 9429042978312
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Provides free and confidential budget advice to individuals and families in the community, promoting the development of personal budget skills in the Taupo district.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Reports under the Tier 3/4 regime with limited disclosure and no detected red flags.
- **Status code:** `limited_disclosure`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$561k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$550k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$12k
- **Total assets:** NZ$176k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$68k
- **Net assets:** NZ$108k
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$97k
- **Donations:** NZ$708
- **Staff costs:** NZ$383k
- **Paid staff:** 8
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=66ef0edf-4a56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$561k | NZ$550k | NZ$12k | NZ$108k |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$466k | NZ$495k | NZ$-29k | NZ$185k |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$473k | NZ$405k | not disclosed | NZ$217k |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$395k | NZ$364k | not disclosed | NZ$148k |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$330k | NZ$311k | not disclosed | NZ$117k |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$241k | NZ$278k | not disclosed | NZ$98k |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$214k | NZ$281k | not disclosed | NZ$136k |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$240k | NZ$246k | not disclosed | NZ$202k |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$278k | NZ$244k | not disclosed | NZ$209k |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$281k | NZ$243k | not disclosed | NZ$174k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 7 current (38 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Auditor:** Silks Audit Chartered Accountants
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC23513) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Pub Charity Limited** (foundation) — NZ$25k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Aotearoa Gaming Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$10k, year ended 2023-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/the-taupo-budget-advisory-service-incorporated
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/the-taupo-budget-advisory-service-incorporated/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/the-taupo-budget-advisory-service-incorporated/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC23513
- Charity website: https://budgethouse.org.nz

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/the-taupo-budget-advisory-service-incorporated. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T21:00:38.416Z.