# The Society of Mary Stromness Fund

**Charities Register number:** CC45812
**Status:** Deregistered (2026-03-26)
**Registered since:** 2010-12-02
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Wellington
**NZBN:** 9429043227952
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

The Trust is established for the particular purpose of providing support for the training of priests by the Society of Mary anywhere in New Zealand.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — No longer on the Charities Register.
- **Status code:** `deregistered`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$8k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$231k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-223k
- **Total assets:** NZ$71k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$2k
- **Net assets:** NZ$70k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$0
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=c6b0b06c-4a56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$8k | NZ$231k | NZ$-223k | NZ$70k |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$22k | NZ$265k | NZ$-244k | not disclosed |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$220k | NZ$276k | not disclosed | NZ$537k |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$18k | NZ$290k | not disclosed | NZ$791k |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$16k | NZ$308k | not disclosed | NZ$1.06M |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$42k | NZ$264k | not disclosed | NZ$1.36M |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$58k | NZ$435k | not disclosed | NZ$1.58M |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$70k | NZ$395k | not disclosed | NZ$1.95M |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$107k | NZ$307k | not disclosed | NZ$2.28M |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$117k | NZ$256k | not disclosed | NZ$2.48M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 5 current (16 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC45812) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-11
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-12
- This document generated: 2026-09-14

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/the-society-of-mary-stromness-fund
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/the-society-of-mary-stromness-fund/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/the-society-of-mary-stromness-fund/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC45812
- Charity website: http://www.sm.org.nz

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/the-society-of-mary-stromness-fund. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-14T19:07:47.264Z.