# The Prema Charitable Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC23161
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-04-17
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** New Lynn
**NZBN:** 9429043060450
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

The vision of the trust is to foster a deep understanding of the highest aspiration of a human being, which is to realise self. This development of this understanding is encouraged through teaching and natural medicine, psychological studies, living in harmony with nature and each other, and spirituality. The Prema Trust serves the world and its people through education. It endeavours to make the world a better place for all beings. To promote understanding that love is the basis for the universe and this can be expressed as loving relationships with all living beings.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Reports under the Tier 3/4 regime with limited disclosure and no detected red flags.
- **Status code:** `limited_disclosure`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 1
  - reserves above the methodology threshold for its size and type

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2024-12-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$1.69M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$1.04M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$643k
- **Total assets:** NZ$5.90M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$122k
- **Net assets:** NZ$5.78M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$5.83M
- **Staff costs:** NZ$190k
- **Paid staff:** 2
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=eb07562a-08c8-ef11-bb3d-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024-12-31 | NZ$1.69M | NZ$1.04M | NZ$643k | NZ$5.78M |
| 2023-12-31 | NZ$1.23M | NZ$1.35M | NZ$-121k | NZ$392 |
| 2022-12-31 | NZ$1.13M | NZ$1.50M | NZ$-369k | NZ$5.26M |
| 2021-12-31 | NZ$2.57M | NZ$3.02M | not disclosed | NZ$5.73M |
| 2020-12-31 | NZ$2.77M | NZ$2.90M | not disclosed | NZ$6.18M |
| 2019-12-31 | NZ$2.69M | NZ$3.40M | not disclosed | NZ$6.31M |
| 2018-12-31 | NZ$3.59M | NZ$3.83M | not disclosed | NZ$7.01M |
| 2017-12-31 | NZ$3.41M | NZ$3.79M | not disclosed | NZ$2.96M |
| 2016-12-31 | NZ$3.21M | NZ$3.31M | not disclosed | NZ$3.34M |
| 2015-12-31 | NZ$1.58M | NZ$1.60M | not disclosed | NZ$2.72M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 3 current (18 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Auditor:** Hart & Co - North Shore
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC23161) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-10-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-10-01
- This document generated: 2026-10-04

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/the-prema-charitable-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/the-prema-charitable-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/the-prema-charitable-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC23161
- Charity website: https://www.kawaipurapura.co.nz

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/the-prema-charitable-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-10-04T19:59:51.560Z.