# The Plunket Foundation

**Charities Register number:** CC35424
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** Wellington
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

The nature of the Foundation’s activities is for the advancement of Whānau Āwhina Plunket (The Royal New Zealand Plunket Trust) in promoting and supporting the functions of Whānau Āwhina Plunket, and to advocate and support the broad objectives of Whānau Āwhina Plunket. An endowment fund has been created to provide independent financial support to assist in those objectives.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** C (61.4 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 78.5/100
- **Governance:** 55/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 1
  - trustees holding many concurrent board roles

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$886k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$477k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$409k
- **Total assets:** NZ$14.95M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$8k
- **Net assets:** NZ$14.95M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$198k
- **Donations:** NZ$294k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$0
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=c4622233-4b56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$886k | NZ$477k | NZ$409k | NZ$14.95M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$1.32M | NZ$1.03M | NZ$290k | NZ$12.00M |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$1.22M | NZ$451k | not disclosed | NZ$11.71M |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$985k | NZ$950k | not disclosed | NZ$10.93M |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$1.01M | NZ$733k | not disclosed | NZ$10.90M |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$1.00M | NZ$1.23M | not disclosed | NZ$10.62M |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$1.24M | NZ$928k | not disclosed | NZ$10.85M |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$4.45M | NZ$213k | not disclosed | NZ$10.54M |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$895k | NZ$612k | not disclosed | NZ$6.30M |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$385k | NZ$350k | not disclosed | NZ$6.01M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 4 current (20 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Auditor:** KPMG
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC35424) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-23
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-29

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/the-plunket-foundation
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/the-plunket-foundation/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/the-plunket-foundation/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC35424

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/the-plunket-foundation. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-29T15:37:50.779Z.