# The Otautahi Education Development Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC36071
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Community Development
**ICNPO group:** Development and Housing
**Region:** Christchurch
**NZBN:** 9429042851516
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Refer financial statements Page 3

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** C (63.3 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 72.5/100
- **Governance:** 75/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-10-01 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 1
  - trustees holding many concurrent board roles

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-12-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$2.65M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$1.73M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$923k
- **Total assets:** NZ$46.34M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$9.09M
- **Net assets:** NZ$37.25M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$5.60M
- **Government grants:** NZ$0 (0.0% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$0
- **Staff costs:** NZ$0
- **Reporting tier:** Tier1
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=d6df60fa-d7e6-f011-bb4e-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-31 | NZ$2.65M | NZ$1.73M | NZ$923k | NZ$37.25M |
| 2024-12-31 | NZ$2.56M | NZ$2.07M | NZ$490k | NZ$34.97M |
| 2023-12-31 | NZ$2.39M | NZ$2.08M | NZ$312k | NZ$29.37M |
| 2022-12-31 | NZ$2.19M | NZ$1.71M | not disclosed | NZ$29.86M |
| 2021-12-31 | NZ$2.80M | NZ$1.63M | not disclosed | NZ$26.29M |
| 2020-12-31 | NZ$2.02M | NZ$1.69M | not disclosed | NZ$25.12M |
| 2019-12-31 | NZ$2.26M | NZ$1.69M | not disclosed | NZ$20.00M |
| 2018-12-31 | NZ$2.25M | NZ$1.76M | not disclosed | NZ$19.42M |
| 2017-12-31 | NZ$3.49M | NZ$2.79M | not disclosed | NZ$18.94M |
| 2016-12-31 | NZ$1.02M | NZ$469k | not disclosed | NZ$17.96M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 6 current (21 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Auditor:** Deloitte Limited
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC36071) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-10-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-13
- Rating: computed 2026-10-01
- This document generated: 2026-10-03

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/the-otautahi-education-development-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/the-otautahi-education-development-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/the-otautahi-education-development-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC36071

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/the-otautahi-education-development-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-10-03T17:14:02.924Z.