# The Julia Choyce Memorial Charitable Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC10065
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2007-03-14
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** Auckland
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

This trust was established by deed on 25th January 2000 by Cecil William Choyce. It is to be held in perpetuity and to pay the net annual income to the Royal New Zealand Foundation for the Blind and to Barnardo's New Zealand, in the Lower Hutt Area, for Youth Counselling. Payment is made equally or in such shares as the trustee determines.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** C+ (69.7 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 76/100
- **Governance:** 55/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2026-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$26k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$27k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-83
- **Total assets:** NZ$875k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$16k
- **Net assets:** NZ$858k
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$17k
- **Government grants:** NZ$0 (0.0% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$0
- **Staff costs:** NZ$0
- **Reporting tier:** Tier2
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=ab1a9a51-922d-f111-bb51-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-03-31 | NZ$26k | NZ$27k | NZ$-83 | NZ$858k |
| 2025-03-31 | NZ$21k | NZ$22k | NZ$-745 | NZ$816k |
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$17k | NZ$19k | NZ$-2k | NZ$804k |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$17k | NZ$51k | not disclosed | NZ$744k |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$9k | NZ$13k | not disclosed | NZ$778k |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$109k | NZ$15k | not disclosed | NZ$782k |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$17k | NZ$48k | not disclosed | NZ$688k |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$38k | NZ$23k | not disclosed | NZ$719k |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$47k | NZ$14k | not disclosed | NZ$704k |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$41k | NZ$20k | not disclosed | NZ$672k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 1 current
- **Chair recorded:** no

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC10065) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-24
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-27
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-29

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/the-julia-choyce-memorial-charitable-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/the-julia-choyce-memorial-charitable-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/the-julia-choyce-memorial-charitable-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC10065

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/the-julia-choyce-memorial-charitable-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-29T12:13:48.740Z.