# The Harry Ell Summit Road Memorial Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC27183
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Other
**Region:** Christchurch
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To receive and invest funds for the purpose of assisting the Summit Road Society (Inc.): (a) To purchase land upon the Port Hills of Banks Peninsula. (b) To maintain tracks and other facilities upon the Port Hills of Banks Peninsula. (c ) With other Port Hills projects endorsed by the Society.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — This charity is not currently rated.
- **Status code:** `group_member`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-12-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$220k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$504
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$219k
- **Total assets:** not disclosed
- **Total liabilities:** not disclosed
- **Net assets:** not disclosed
- **Donations:** NZ$202k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$0
- **Reporting tier:** Tier4

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-31 | NZ$220k | NZ$504 | NZ$219k | not disclosed |
| 2024-12-31 | NZ$24k | NZ$43k | NZ$-19k | NZ$394k |
| 2023-12-31 | NZ$19k | NZ$230 | NZ$19k | not disclosed |
| 2022-12-31 | NZ$7k | NZ$28k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2021-12-31 | NZ$4k | NZ$5k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2020-12-31 | NZ$16k | NZ$11k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2019-12-31 | NZ$152k | NZ$1k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2018-12-31 | NZ$170k | NZ$1.68M | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2017-12-31 | NZ$176k | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2016-12-31 | NZ$300k | NZ$1k | not disclosed | not disclosed |

## Group consolidated filing

This charity is part of **The Summit Road Society Group**, which files a consolidated return. For the year ended 2009-12-31 the group reported revenue of NZ$20k and expenses of NZ$0.

Where a member files an empty individual return, the group figures are where the activity sits.

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 5 current (16 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC27183) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-12
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-11
- Rating: computed 2026-09-12
- This document generated: 2026-09-13

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/the-harry-ell-summit-road-memorial-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/the-harry-ell-summit-road-memorial-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/the-harry-ell-summit-road-memorial-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC27183

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/the-harry-ell-summit-road-memorial-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-13T05:38:38.890Z.