# The Disabled Citizen's Society Incorporated

**Charities Register number:** CC39044
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2009-04-05
**Sector:** Social Services
**ICNPO group:** Social Services
**Region:** Auckland
**NZBN:** 9429042776581
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

The Society seeks to provide stable and supportive employment for people with disabilities

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** B- (70.8 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 69/100
- **Governance:** 75/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$570k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$609k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-39k
- **Total assets:** NZ$4.72M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$36k
- **Net assets:** NZ$4.69M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$194k
- **Donations:** NZ$3k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$332k
- **Paid staff:** 76
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=c881d9cf-c60e-f011-bb41-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-03-31 | NZ$570k | NZ$609k | NZ$-39k | NZ$4.69M |
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$539k | NZ$446k | NZ$93k | NZ$1.67M |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$509k | NZ$482k | not disclosed | NZ$1.58M |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$705k | NZ$567k | not disclosed | NZ$1.55M |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$934k | NZ$581k | not disclosed | NZ$1.42M |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$469k | NZ$441k | not disclosed | NZ$1.06M |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$435k | NZ$425k | not disclosed | NZ$1.04M |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$380k | NZ$370k | not disclosed | NZ$1.02M |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$358k | NZ$302k | not disclosed | NZ$1.01M |
| 2016-03-31 | NZ$280k | NZ$331k | not disclosed | NZ$959k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 6 current (35 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unknown

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC39044) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$40k, year ended 2026-03-31
- **Trillian Trust** (foundation) — NZ$24k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-24
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/the-disabled-citizens-society-incorporated
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/the-disabled-citizens-society-incorporated/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/the-disabled-citizens-society-incorporated/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC39044

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/the-disabled-citizens-society-incorporated. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T03:54:29.828Z.