# The Christchurch Art Gallery Te Puna o Waiwhetū Foundation

**Charities Register number:** CC28925
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Arts & Culture
**ICNPO group:** Culture and Recreation
**Region:** Christchurch
**NZBN:** 9429042610496
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

The Christchurch Art Gallery Foundation Te Puna o Waiwhetū Foundation (CAGF) exists to foster and encourage interest in Art through providing support to the Christchurch Art Gallery Te Puna o Waiwhetū.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** D+ (50.3 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 72.5/100
- **Governance:** 65/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-12 (methodology 3.8)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 1
  - trustees holding many concurrent board roles

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2024-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$2.54M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$408k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$2.14M
- **Total assets:** NZ$12.09M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$89k
- **Net assets:** NZ$12.00M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$368k
- **Donations:** NZ$1.97M
- **Volunteers:** 9
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=31ff547d-efef-ee11-bb2f-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$2.54M | NZ$408k | NZ$2.14M | NZ$12.00M |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$490k | NZ$528k | not disclosed | NZ$9.86M |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$2.26M | NZ$284k | not disclosed | NZ$9.89M |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$1.42M | NZ$457k | not disclosed | NZ$7.92M |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$1.00M | NZ$547k | not disclosed | NZ$6.95M |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$2.02M | NZ$1.64M | not disclosed | NZ$6.49M |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$1.85M | NZ$845k | not disclosed | NZ$6.11M |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$1.54M | NZ$547k | not disclosed | NZ$5.11M |
| 2016-03-31 | NZ$1.51M | NZ$501k | not disclosed | NZ$4.12M |
| 2015-03-31 | NZ$142k | NZ$120k | NZ$21k | NZ$3.12M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 9 current (24 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Auditor:** KPMG
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC28925) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-12
- Financials: last updated 2026-04-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-12
- This document generated: 2026-09-13

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/the-christchurch-art-gallery-te-puna-o-waiwhetu-foundation
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/the-christchurch-art-gallery-te-puna-o-waiwhetu-foundation/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/the-christchurch-art-gallery-te-puna-o-waiwhetu-foundation/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC28925

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/the-christchurch-art-gallery-te-puna-o-waiwhetu-foundation. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-13T03:41:44.752Z.