# The Akoteu Tenga'i Musita Trust Board

**Charities Register number:** CC55273
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2017-12-05
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Auckland
**NZBN:** 9429046354228
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

This service opened in 2013 in purpose-built premises. It provides pre-school education and care in an immersion Tongan context. Children attending the centre have Tongan heritage and are predominantly from the local community. The centre’s philosophy is ‘Meeting Community’s Needs’. Four principles inform teacher practice in enacting this philosophy. These are Faka’apa (acknowledging and returning respect), Anga Fakatokilalo/lotu (humility and being open to learning), Tauhi Vaha’a/va (keeping t

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Small community organisation — the scorecard is not designed for entities at this scale.
- **Status code:** `community_group`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$203k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$203k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$304
- **Total assets:** NZ$1.69M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$120k
- **Net assets:** NZ$1.57M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$47k
- **Government grants:** NZ$0 (0.0% of revenue)
- **Staff costs:** NZ$0
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=8594dddb-4956-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$203k | NZ$203k | NZ$304 | NZ$1.57M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$994k | NZ$641k | NZ$353k | NZ$1.57M |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$600k | NZ$671k | not disclosed | NZ$1.22M |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$710k | NZ$714k | not disclosed | NZ$1.29M |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$743k | not disclosed | not disclosed | NZ$1.29M |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$757k | NZ$736k | not disclosed | NZ$1.28M |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$845k | NZ$738k | not disclosed | NZ$1.26M |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$860k | NZ$664k | not disclosed | NZ$1.30M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 6 current (9 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC55273) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-11
- This document generated: 2026-09-11

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/the-akoteu-tengai-musita-trust-board
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/the-akoteu-tengai-musita-trust-board/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/the-akoteu-tengai-musita-trust-board/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC55273

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/the-akoteu-tengai-musita-trust-board. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-11T17:53:40.394Z.