# The 4 A Better City Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC55347
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2018-04-13
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** Upper Hutt
**NZBN:** 9429046519665
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

helping and supporting the educational and social development of identified target groups within the Hutt Valley Community; and providing material, financial and mental health support for the socially disadvantaged in Hutt Valley Community;

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** A (92.4 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 99.8/100
- **Governance:** 75/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$2.44M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$2.29M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$147k
- **Total assets:** NZ$1.14M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$599k
- **Net assets:** NZ$336k
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$591k
- **Government grants:** NZ$2.01M (82.5% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$416k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$1.09M
- **Paid staff:** 20
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=48e84366-c10e-f011-bb41-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-03-31 | NZ$2.44M | NZ$2.29M | NZ$147k | NZ$336k |
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$457k | NZ$509k | NZ$-52k | NZ$103k |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$460k | NZ$369k | not disclosed | NZ$155k |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$214k | NZ$194k | not disclosed | NZ$75k |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$36k | NZ$10k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$59k | NZ$38k | not disclosed | NZ$28k |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$36k | NZ$27k | not disclosed | not disclosed |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 7 current (13 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Auditor:** Murray Baxter
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC55347) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Pelorus Trust** (foundation) — NZ$14k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$8k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-26
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/the-4-a-better-city-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/the-4-a-better-city-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/the-4-a-better-city-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC55347

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/the-4-a-better-city-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T15:57:10.070Z.