# Tennis Auckland Region Incorporated

**Charities Register number:** CC20231
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2007-12-11
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** Auckland
**NZBN:** 9429042590699
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

The charitable purposes of Tennis Auckland are to improve the health and well-being of the general public and to advance education primarily in the Auckland region through participation in Tennis.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** A- (89.5 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 100/100
- **Governance:** 65/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$10.47M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$10.05M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$418k
- **Total assets:** NZ$19.21M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$2.02M
- **Net assets:** NZ$17.19M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$733k
- **Government grants:** NZ$50k (0.5% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$14k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$2.39M
- **Paid staff:** 20
- **Volunteers:** 4
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=2702f72e-4c56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$10.47M | NZ$10.05M | NZ$418k | NZ$17.19M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$3.53M | NZ$3.71M | NZ$-181k | NZ$16.88M |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$2.96M | NZ$3.09M | not disclosed | NZ$17.09M |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$2.27M | NZ$2.81M | not disclosed | NZ$17.21M |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$2.06M | NZ$5.64M | not disclosed | NZ$18.52M |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$18.48M | NZ$11.13M | not disclosed | NZ$22.11M |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$9.51M | NZ$6.58M | not disclosed | NZ$14.76M |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$8.71M | NZ$8.64M | not disclosed | NZ$11.82M |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$8.90M | NZ$10.26M | not disclosed | NZ$11.75M |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$8.22M | NZ$7.57M | not disclosed | NZ$13.11M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 9 current (27 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Auditor:** BDO Tauranga
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC20231) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **New Zealand Community Trust** (foundation) — NZ$223k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Grassroots Trust Limited** (foundation) — NZ$177k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **The Trusts Community Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$149k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Trillian Trust** (foundation) — NZ$127k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Four Winds Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$85k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **The Trusts Community Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$50k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **The Trusts Community Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$45k, year ended 2023-12-31
- **New Zealand Community Trust** (foundation) — NZ$30k, year ended 2023-12-31
- **Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$20k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **The Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$10k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Service providers

- BDO — auditor

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-30

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/tennis-auckland-region-incorporated
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/tennis-auckland-region-incorporated/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/tennis-auckland-region-incorporated/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC20231

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/tennis-auckland-region-incorporated. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-30T05:07:57.538Z.