# Te Wānanga o Raukawa Foundation

**Charities Register number:** CC47072
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2011-11-08
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Otaki
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

TWoR Foundation orginated from a capital injection in regard to a Waitangi Tribunal claim. TWoR Foundation is to maximize education and survival of Maori through the expression of the kaupapa.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** B (78.5 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 80/100
- **Governance:** 75/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-10-01 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2026-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$1.83M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$1.16M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$670k
- **Total assets:** NZ$31.43M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$35k
- **Net assets:** NZ$31.39M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$33k
- **Donations:** NZ$0
- **Staff costs:** NZ$0
- **Reporting tier:** Tier3
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=89c600c2-912d-f111-bb51-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-03-31 | NZ$1.83M | NZ$1.16M | NZ$670k | NZ$31.39M |
| 2025-03-31 | NZ$1.91M | NZ$841k | NZ$1.07M | NZ$17.97M |
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$3.16M | NZ$917k | NZ$2.24M | NZ$17.97M |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$172k | NZ$1000k | not disclosed | NZ$27.41M |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$1.42M | NZ$895k | not disclosed | NZ$28.24M |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$4.20M | NZ$655k | not disclosed | NZ$27.71M |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$713k | NZ$610k | not disclosed | NZ$24.17M |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$765k | NZ$675k | not disclosed | NZ$24.07M |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$803k | NZ$425k | not disclosed | NZ$23.98M |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$707k | NZ$147k | not disclosed | NZ$23.60M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 10 current (21 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Auditor:** Silks Audit
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC47072) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-10-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-27
- Rating: computed 2026-10-01
- This document generated: 2026-10-04

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-wnanga-o-raukawa-foundation
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-wnanga-o-raukawa-foundation/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-wnanga-o-raukawa-foundation/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC47072
- Charity website: https://www.tworfoundation.co.nz/

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-wnanga-o-raukawa-foundation. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-10-04T13:13:20.751Z.