# Te Whare Mahana Trust Board

**Charities Register number:** CC47156
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2011-07-28
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** Takaka
**NZBN:** 9429043226771
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To provide an integrated range of mental health services in Golden Bay, using evidence based best practice to assist people to work towards achieving wellness and independence.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** B+ (84.0 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 92.2/100
- **Governance:** 65/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-10-01 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$2.63M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$2.55M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$82k
- **Total assets:** NZ$1.81M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$497k
- **Net assets:** NZ$1.32M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$662k
- **Government grants:** NZ$2.56M (97.2% of revenue)
- **Staff costs:** NZ$2.19M
- **Paid staff:** 50
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=e7bfb62a-4a56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$2.63M | NZ$2.55M | NZ$82k | NZ$1.32M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$2.64M | NZ$2.58M | NZ$58k | NZ$992k |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$2.60M | NZ$2.39M | not disclosed | NZ$1.02M |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$2.46M | NZ$2.40M | not disclosed | NZ$385k |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$2.40M | NZ$2.47M | not disclosed | NZ$327k |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$2.29M | NZ$2.31M | not disclosed | NZ$393k |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$2.18M | NZ$2.18M | not disclosed | NZ$457k |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$1.86M | NZ$1.89M | not disclosed | NZ$455k |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$1.64M | NZ$1.72M | not disclosed | NZ$479k |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$1.43M | NZ$1.40M | not disclosed | NZ$562k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 9 current (35 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Auditor:** NMA Nelson Marlborough Audit
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC47156) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-10-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-10-01
- This document generated: 2026-10-03

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-whare-mahana-trust-board
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-whare-mahana-trust-board/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-whare-mahana-trust-board/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC47156

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-whare-mahana-trust-board. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-10-03T12:21:54.112Z.