# Te Wananga Takiura O Nga Kura Kaupapa Maori O Aotearoa Incorporated

**Charities Register number:** CC34199
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Auckland
**NZBN:** 9429042842170
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To provide a Maori Pathway of quality and substance to total immersion, Maori medium tertiary education and a bachelor degree qualification in Kura Kaupapa Maori teaching.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** C (60.0 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 62.3/100
- **Governance:** 75/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-10-01 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 1
  - trustees holding many concurrent board roles

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-12-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$3.51M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$3.13M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$378k
- **Total assets:** NZ$5.81M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$324k
- **Net assets:** NZ$5.49M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$4.67M
- **Government grants:** NZ$1.72M (48.9% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$1k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$1.57M
- **Paid staff:** 22
- **Reporting tier:** Tier3
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=e9ea540c-d8e6-f011-bb4e-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-31 | NZ$3.51M | NZ$3.13M | NZ$378k | NZ$5.49M |
| 2024-12-31 | NZ$3.32M | NZ$2.60M | NZ$722k | NZ$5.11M |
| 2023-12-31 | NZ$3.13M | NZ$2.30M | NZ$833k | NZ$4.39M |
| 2022-12-31 | NZ$2.71M | NZ$2.23M | NZ$482k | NZ$3.56M |
| 2021-12-31 | NZ$2.73M | NZ$1.99M | not disclosed | NZ$3.08M |
| 2020-12-31 | NZ$2.29M | NZ$1.56M | not disclosed | NZ$2.34M |
| 2019-12-31 | NZ$1.66M | NZ$1.37M | not disclosed | NZ$1.61M |
| 2018-12-31 | NZ$1.27M | NZ$1.13M | not disclosed | NZ$1.32M |
| 2017-12-31 | NZ$1.27M | NZ$1.16M | not disclosed | NZ$1.18M |
| 2016-12-31 | NZ$1.15M | NZ$1.21M | not disclosed | NZ$1.06M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 10 current (35 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Auditor:** JSA Audit Limited
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC34199) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-10-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-10-01
- This document generated: 2026-10-04

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-wananga-takiura-o-nga-kura-kaupapa-maori-o-aotearoa-incorporated
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-wananga-takiura-o-nga-kura-kaupapa-maori-o-aotearoa-incorporated/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-wananga-takiura-o-nga-kura-kaupapa-maori-o-aotearoa-incorporated/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC34199
- Charity website: http://www.twt.ac.nz

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-wananga-takiura-o-nga-kura-kaupapa-maori-o-aotearoa-incorporated. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-10-04T17:07:23.322Z.