# Te Tōpūtanga o te Whare Korou ki Aotearoa - Passive House Institute New Zealand (PHINZ)

**Charities Register number:** CC47909
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2011-11-04
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** Wellington
**NZBN:** 9429043147410
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

The Passive House Institute is an Incorporated Charitable Trust with the following aims: - Educating the building industry and members of the public about improved energy efficiency in Aotearoa/New Zealand buildings; - Promoting the Passive House standard as defined by the Passivhaus Institut, Darmstadt-Germany, in Aotearoa/New Zealand; - Researching the performance of built Passive Houses in Aotearoa/New Zealand and making such research publicly available; - Researching the Aotearoa/New Zealand housing industry in general and the Aotearoa/New Zealand climate and making such research publicly available in order to promote energy efficient building options; - Providing a platform for the building sector to gain knowledge of highly energy efficient buildings; - Educating building professionals and lay persons about Passive Houses. To benefit the community by: - Improving public health and well-being and relieving fuel poverty of the people of Aotearoa/New Zealand through the promotion of

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — The charity type has not been classified yet, so no scoring template applies and the grade is withheld.
- **Status code:** `unclassified`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-12-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$156k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$138k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$18k
- **Total assets:** NZ$93k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$90k
- **Net assets:** NZ$3k
- **Donations:** NZ$15k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$86k
- **Paid staff:** 2
- **Reporting tier:** Tier3

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-31 | NZ$156k | NZ$138k | NZ$18k | NZ$3k |
| 2024-12-31 | NZ$121k | NZ$187k | NZ$-66k | NZ$-15k |
| 2023-12-31 | NZ$146k | NZ$137k | NZ$9k | NZ$50k |
| 2022-12-31 | NZ$136k | NZ$161k | not disclosed | NZ$42k |
| 2021-12-31 | NZ$243k | NZ$292k | not disclosed | NZ$67k |
| 2020-12-31 | NZ$170k | NZ$131k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2019-12-31 | NZ$82k | NZ$90k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2018-12-31 | NZ$75k | NZ$33k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2017-12-31 | NZ$77k | NZ$79k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2016-12-31 | NZ$59k | NZ$13k | not disclosed | not disclosed |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 6 current (28 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC47909) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-11
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-11
- Rating: computed 2026-09-12
- This document generated: 2026-09-13

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-toputanga-o-te-whare-korou-ki-aotearoa-passive-house-institute-new-zealand-phinz
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-toputanga-o-te-whare-korou-ki-aotearoa-passive-house-institute-new-zealand-phinz/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-toputanga-o-te-whare-korou-ki-aotearoa-passive-house-institute-new-zealand-phinz/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC47909
- Charity website: https://passivehouse.nz/

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-toputanga-o-te-whare-korou-ki-aotearoa-passive-house-institute-new-zealand-phinz. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-13T09:55:44.377Z.