# Te Taiwhenua O Heretaunga Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC20582
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-01-21
**Sector:** Other
**Region:** Hastings
**NZBN:** 9429042829942
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Mauri ora ki te mana Māori o Heretaunga: To uplift the well-being of Heretaunga Māori

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — The most recent annual return on the register is too old to score.
- **Status code:** `stale_data`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 1
  - trustees holding many concurrent board roles

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2023-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$57.97M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$49.83M
- **Surplus / deficit:** not disclosed
- **Total assets:** NZ$51.87M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$17.21M
- **Net assets:** NZ$34.65M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$8.24M
- **Donations:** NZ$1.71M
- **Paid staff:** 379
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Financial report audited:** yes
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=552e36ca-dd17-ee11-bb22-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$57.97M | NZ$49.83M | not disclosed | NZ$34.65M |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$51.59M | NZ$42.87M | not disclosed | NZ$26.32M |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$36.72M | NZ$31.14M | not disclosed | NZ$17.80M |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$28.07M | NZ$26.74M | not disclosed | NZ$12.38M |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$24.31M | NZ$23.92M | not disclosed | NZ$11.20M |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$20.52M | NZ$20.08M | not disclosed | NZ$10.94M |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$14.77M | NZ$14.53M | not disclosed | NZ$10.55M |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$14.00M | NZ$14.07M | not disclosed | NZ$10.44M |
| 2015-06-30 | NZ$13.87M | NZ$13.92M | NZ$-42k | NZ$10.62M |
| 2014-06-30 | NZ$12.92M | NZ$13.09M | NZ$-170k | NZ$10.79M |

## Group consolidated filing

This charity is part of **TToH & Waingakau Group**, which files a consolidated return. For the year ended 2025-06-30 the group reported revenue of NZ$65.80M and expenses of NZ$58.02M.

Where a member files an empty individual return, the group figures are where the activity sits.

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 18 current (78 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Paid executives disclosed:** 17
- **Auditor:** PricewaterhouseCoopers
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC20582) and on the charity's profile page.

## Service providers

- PwC — auditor

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-23
- Financials: last updated 2026-04-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-taiwhenua-o-heretaunga-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-taiwhenua-o-heretaunga-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-taiwhenua-o-heretaunga-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC20582

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-taiwhenua-o-heretaunga-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T07:14:11.271Z.