# Te Runanga O Ngati Awa

**Charities Register number:** CC10916
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2007-08-22
**Sector:** Religion
**ICNPO group:** Religion
**Region:** Whakatane
**NZBN:** 9429052726354
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

The purposes of the Runanga are to receive, manage and administer the Runanga’s Assets on trust for the relief of poverty, the advancement of education or religion or any other object or purpose that is beneficial to the Ngati Awa community and shall include without limitation: (a) the promotion amongst Ngati Awa of the educational, spiritual, economic, social and cultural advancement or well-being of Ngati Awa and its Hapu; (b) the maintenance and establishment of places of cultural or spiritual significance to Ngati Awa; (c) the promotion amongst Ngati Awa of mental health and well-being of the aged or those suffering from mental or physical sickness or disability; and (d) any other charitable purpose that is beneficial to the Ngati Awa community.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** C- (57.3 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 72.5/100
- **Governance:** 55/100
- **Transparency:** 85/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 1
  - trustees holding many concurrent board roles

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$12.96M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$18.15M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-5.18M
- **Total assets:** NZ$177.51M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$24.00M
- **Net assets:** NZ$153.52M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$9.45M
- **Government grants:** NZ$0 (0.0% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$0
- **Staff costs:** NZ$4.68M
- **Paid staff:** 77
- **Reporting tier:** Tier2
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=a580f710-4c56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$12.96M | NZ$18.15M | NZ$-5.18M | NZ$153.52M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$15.58M | NZ$19.42M | NZ$-3.84M | NZ$149.27M |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$19.11M | NZ$23.30M | not disclosed | NZ$152.88M |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$28.16M | NZ$26.24M | not disclosed | NZ$149.29M |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$17.33M | NZ$19.89M | not disclosed | NZ$146.80M |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$14.53M | NZ$17.13M | not disclosed | NZ$125.69M |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$15.60M | NZ$15.55M | not disclosed | NZ$123.20M |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$23.20M | NZ$15.32M | not disclosed | NZ$123.90M |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$13.11M | NZ$9.79M | not disclosed | NZ$115.21M |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$6.68M | NZ$8.88M | not disclosed | NZ$114.03M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 22 current (72 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Paid executives disclosed:** 46
- **Executive remuneration bands:** under NZ$100k, NZ$500k+
- **Auditor:** KPMG
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC10916) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Aotearoa Gaming Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$30k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Service providers

- KPMG — auditor

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-23
- Financials: last updated 2026-06-07
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-27

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-runanga-o-ngati-awa
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-runanga-o-ngati-awa/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-runanga-o-ngati-awa/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC10916
- Charity website: http://www.ngatiawa.iwi.nz

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-runanga-o-ngati-awa. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-27T21:19:32.103Z.