# Te Roopu Taurima o Manukau Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC21743
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-03-12
**Sector:** Social Services
**ICNPO group:** Social Services
**Region:** Auckland
**NZBN:** 9429042825739
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Te Roopu Taurima is a Kaupapa Maori organisation determined to make a real difference by supporting Tangata to live great lives in their own way.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** C (60.1 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 68/100
- **Governance:** 75/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-10-01 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 1
  - trustees holding many concurrent board roles

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$43.38M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$43.80M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-427k
- **Total assets:** NZ$14.14M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$10.07M
- **Net assets:** NZ$4.06M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$7.68M
- **Government grants:** NZ$43.16M (99.5% of revenue)
- **Staff costs:** NZ$35.59M
- **Paid staff:** 392
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=a30cf2ac-4c56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$43.38M | NZ$43.80M | NZ$-427k | NZ$4.06M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$44.17M | NZ$44.31M | NZ$-137k | NZ$6.72M |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$41.66M | NZ$41.02M | not disclosed | NZ$6.85M |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$40.95M | NZ$38.65M | not disclosed | NZ$6.22M |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$36.93M | NZ$36.79M | not disclosed | NZ$3.91M |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$35.02M | NZ$35.01M | not disclosed | NZ$3.78M |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$34.45M | NZ$34.22M | not disclosed | NZ$3.76M |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$33.58M | NZ$33.71M | not disclosed | NZ$3.54M |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$31.88M | NZ$31.67M | not disclosed | NZ$3.67M |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$30.29M | NZ$31.08M | not disclosed | NZ$3.46M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 8 current (35 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Paid executives disclosed:** 1
- **Auditor:** RSM Hayes Audit
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC21743) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Te Whatu Ora - Health New Zealand** (government) — NZ$25.89M, year ended 2025-06-30
- **Te Whatu Ora - Health New Zealand** (government) — NZ$18.36M, year ended 2015-06-30
- **Te Whatu Ora - Health New Zealand** (government) — NZ$18.28M, year ended 2014-06-30
- **Te Whatu Ora - Health New Zealand** (government) — NZ$18.20M, year ended 2013-06-30
- **Te Whatu Ora - Health New Zealand** (government) — NZ$17.35M, year ended 2012-06-30
- **Ministry of Social Development** (government) — NZ$17.26M, year ended 2025-06-30
- **Te Whatu Ora - Health New Zealand** (government) — NZ$16.40M, year ended 2011-06-30
- **Te Whatu Ora - Health New Zealand** (government) — NZ$16.05M, year ended 2010-06-30
- **Ministry of Social Development** (government) — NZ$12.24M, year ended 2015-06-30
- **Ministry of Social Development** (government) — NZ$12.19M, year ended 2014-06-30

## Service providers

- RSM Hayes Audit — auditor

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-10-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-10-01
- This document generated: 2026-10-04

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-roopu-taurima-o-manukau-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-roopu-taurima-o-manukau-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-roopu-taurima-o-manukau-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC21743
- Charity website: http://www.terooputaurima.org.nz

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-roopu-taurima-o-manukau-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-10-04T15:32:26.517Z.