# Te Puna Reo O Puhi Kaiti Incorporated

**Charities Register number:** CC40474
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2009-05-28
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Gisborne
**NZBN:** 9429043094271
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

“Tukuna Waiapu kia rere, tukuna te tamaiti kia rere ki ngā taumata tiketike.” This is our mission statement. As the Waiapu River flows freely, our children will soar freely to achieve success at the greatest heights possible. Waiapu is the main lifeline of Ngāti Porou. It links us to our Ngāti Poroutanga and Māori values of kaitiakitanga, rangatiratanga, whanaungatanga, manaakitanga, tikanga, wairuatanga, and mātauranga, which are central to our pedagogy. In addition, we have high expectations of our tamariki, staff, and whānau, and aim to provide an innovative curriculum which will ensure that they achieve great success both individually and collectively. We exist to ensure our tamariki receive high-quality education and care and realise their full potential.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — The charity type has not been classified yet, so no scoring template applies and the grade is withheld.
- **Status code:** `unclassified`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2024-12-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$641k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$677k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-36k
- **Total assets:** NZ$1.12M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$113k
- **Net assets:** NZ$1.00M
- **Staff costs:** NZ$561k
- **Paid staff:** 12
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=1ca53c1f-07c8-ef11-bb3d-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024-12-31 | NZ$641k | NZ$677k | NZ$-36k | NZ$1.00M |
| 2023-12-31 | NZ$611k | NZ$618k | NZ$-6k | NZ$261k |
| 2022-12-31 | NZ$638k | NZ$601k | not disclosed | NZ$896k |
| 2021-12-31 | NZ$611k | NZ$637k | not disclosed | NZ$859k |
| 2020-12-31 | NZ$703k | NZ$661k | not disclosed | NZ$885k |
| 2019-12-31 | NZ$656k | NZ$619k | not disclosed | NZ$740k |
| 2018-12-31 | NZ$676k | NZ$657k | not disclosed | NZ$703k |
| 2017-12-31 | NZ$629k | NZ$688k | not disclosed | NZ$684k |
| 2016-12-31 | NZ$694k | NZ$633k | not disclosed | NZ$757k |
| 2015-12-31 | NZ$638k | NZ$494k | not disclosed | NZ$909k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 6 current (25 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC40474) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-11
- This document generated: 2026-09-12

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-puna-reo-o-puhi-kaiti-incorporated
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-puna-reo-o-puhi-kaiti-incorporated/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-puna-reo-o-puhi-kaiti-incorporated/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC40474

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-puna-reo-o-puhi-kaiti-incorporated. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-12T08:39:36.727Z.