# Te Puna Ora O Mataatua Charitable Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC26592
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-24
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** Whakatane
**NZBN:** 9429042841630
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To improve and enhance the holistic health and well-being of all whanau, hāpū, and iwi within the Mataatua rohe through a kaupapa Māori framework.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** B- (71.2 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 69.5/100
- **Governance:** 75/100
- **Transparency:** 85/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$32.50M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$31.60M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$895k
- **Total assets:** NZ$18.61M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$7.35M
- **Net assets:** NZ$11.26M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$4.22M
- **Government grants:** NZ$0 (0.0% of revenue)
- **Staff costs:** NZ$24.04M
- **Paid staff:** 560
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=806f0189-4c56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$32.50M | NZ$31.60M | NZ$895k | NZ$11.26M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$29.42M | NZ$28.63M | NZ$784k | NZ$9.56M |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$27.09M | NZ$27.06M | not disclosed | NZ$8.77M |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$30.82M | NZ$26.71M | not disclosed | NZ$8.74M |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$19.42M | NZ$18.15M | not disclosed | NZ$4.63M |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$14.04M | NZ$12.80M | not disclosed | NZ$3.37M |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$10.46M | NZ$9.11M | not disclosed | NZ$2.08M |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$6.66M | NZ$7.56M | not disclosed | NZ$692k |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$4.91M | NZ$5.25M | not disclosed | NZ$1.61M |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$3.63M | NZ$3.43M | not disclosed | NZ$1.96M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 6 current (26 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Paid executives disclosed:** 14
- **Executive remuneration bands:** NZ$500k+, NZ$200k–300k
- **Auditor:** KPMG
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC26592) and on the charity's profile page.

## Service providers

- KPMG — auditor

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-27

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-puna-ora-o-mataatua-charitable-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-puna-ora-o-mataatua-charitable-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-puna-ora-o-mataatua-charitable-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC26592

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-puna-ora-o-mataatua-charitable-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-27T21:46:03.216Z.