# Te Matatini Society Incorporated

**Charities Register number:** CC40056
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2009-05-13
**Sector:** Arts & Culture
**ICNPO group:** Culture and Recreation
**Region:** Wellington
**NZBN:** 9429043028306
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To foster the grace, form, cultural expression, and excellence of Kapa Haka.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** F (17.3 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 11.2/100
- **Governance:** 65/100
- **Transparency:** 85/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 1
  - trustees holding many concurrent board roles

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$27.36M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$26.83M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$534k
- **Total assets:** NZ$2.56M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$885k
- **Net assets:** NZ$1.67M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$522k
- **Government grants:** NZ$19.97M (73.0% of revenue)
- **Staff costs:** NZ$3.91M
- **Paid staff:** 29
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=aaaa7a79-4d56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$27.36M | NZ$26.83M | NZ$534k | NZ$1.67M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$21.05M | NZ$20.85M | NZ$201k | NZ$1.14M |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$11.56M | NZ$11.54M | not disclosed | NZ$934k |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$3.50M | NZ$3.49M | not disclosed | NZ$910k |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$4.41M | NZ$4.29M | not disclosed | NZ$904k |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$2.50M | NZ$2.57M | not disclosed | NZ$790k |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$7.12M | NZ$7.08M | not disclosed | NZ$859k |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$3.52M | NZ$3.56M | not disclosed | NZ$819k |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$5.79M | NZ$5.53M | not disclosed | NZ$859k |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$2.13M | NZ$2.48M | not disclosed | NZ$595k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 20 current (28 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Paid executives disclosed:** 22
- **Executive remuneration bands:** NZ$300k–500k, NZ$200k–300k, NZ$100k–150k, under NZ$100k, NZ$500k+
- **Auditor:** Moore Markhams
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC40056) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Ministry for Culture and Heritage** (government) — NZ$15.98M, year ended 2025-06-30
- **Te Puni Kōkiri** (government) — NZ$3.99M, year ended 2025-06-30
- **Ministry for Culture and Heritage** (government) — NZ$998k, year ended 2015-06-30
- **Ministry for Culture and Heritage** (government) — NZ$998k, year ended 2012-06-30
- **Ministry for Culture and Heritage** (government) — NZ$998k, year ended 2010-06-30
- **Ministry for Culture and Heritage** (government) — NZ$998k, year ended 2014-06-30
- **Ministry for Culture and Heritage** (government) — NZ$998k, year ended 2011-06-30
- **Ministry for Culture and Heritage** (government) — NZ$998k, year ended 2013-06-30
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$600k, year ended 2025-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$500k, year ended 2023-03-31

## Service providers

- Moore Markham — auditor

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-matatini-society-incorporated
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-matatini-society-incorporated/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-matatini-society-incorporated/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC40056
- Charity website: http://www.tematatini.co.nz

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-matatini-society-incorporated. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T10:19:55.422Z.