# Te Kupenga O Aranui

**Charities Register number:** CC36711
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Christchurch
**NZBN:** 9429042961871
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Te Kupenga is a collaborative approach between the young person, their whanau, community and school. Te Kupenga o Aranui provides a "safety net" for young people alienated from mainstream education, supporting them to reach their full potential.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — The charity type has not been classified yet, so no scoring template applies and the grade is withheld.
- **Status code:** `unclassified`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-12-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$329k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$268k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$61k
- **Total assets:** NZ$153k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$4k
- **Net assets:** NZ$149k
- **Government grants:** NZ$308k (93.6% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$0
- **Staff costs:** NZ$182k
- **Paid staff:** 3
- **Reporting tier:** Tier3

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-31 | NZ$329k | NZ$268k | NZ$61k | NZ$149k |
| 2024-12-31 | NZ$362k | NZ$253k | NZ$109k | NZ$88k |
| 2023-12-31 | NZ$260k | NZ$315k | not disclosed | NZ$-21k |
| 2022-12-31 | NZ$265k | NZ$242k | not disclosed | NZ$34k |
| 2021-12-31 | NZ$263k | NZ$261k | not disclosed | NZ$11k |
| 2020-12-31 | NZ$223k | NZ$262k | not disclosed | NZ$9k |
| 2019-12-31 | NZ$249k | NZ$244k | not disclosed | NZ$48k |
| 2018-12-31 | NZ$200k | NZ$234k | not disclosed | NZ$43k |
| 2017-12-31 | NZ$244k | NZ$234k | not disclosed | NZ$77k |
| 2016-12-31 | NZ$208k | NZ$204k | not disclosed | NZ$68k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 9 current (21 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC36711) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-11
- Rating: computed 2026-09-11
- This document generated: 2026-09-11

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-kupenga-o-aranui
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-kupenga-o-aranui/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-kupenga-o-aranui/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC36711

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-kupenga-o-aranui. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-11T12:06:09.845Z.