# Te Kawerau Iwi Tribal Authority

**Charities Register number:** CC41510
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2009-07-22
**Sector:** Arts & Culture
**ICNPO group:** Culture and Recreation
**Region:** Auckland
**NZBN:** 9429043165285
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Represent the people of Te Kawerau a Maki on all matters of cultural interest and to provide for the educational, cultural, and social wellbeing of the iwi.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Liabilities exceed assets, which the scoring template cannot represent fairly.
- **Status code:** `structural_negative_equity`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2024-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$715k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$802k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-87k
- **Total assets:** NZ$5.60M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$8.00M
- **Net assets:** NZ$-2.40M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$107k
- **Paid staff:** 6
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Financial report audited:** yes
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=3c5623ad-efef-ee11-bb2f-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$715k | NZ$802k | NZ$-87k | NZ$-2.40M |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$854k | NZ$869k | NZ$-15k | NZ$-2.32M |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$2.90M | NZ$1.02M | not disclosed | NZ$-2.30M |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$861k | NZ$2.33M | not disclosed | NZ$-4.19M |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$1.36M | NZ$2.05M | not disclosed | NZ$-2.72M |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$1.31M | NZ$1.93M | not disclosed | NZ$-2.02M |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$1.19M | NZ$1.32M | not disclosed | NZ$-1.40M |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$394k | NZ$1.73M | not disclosed | NZ$-7.20M |
| 2016-03-31 | NZ$151k | NZ$1.23M | not disclosed | NZ$-5.86M |
| 2015-03-31 | NZ$285k | NZ$1.46M | NZ$-1.17M | NZ$-4.78M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 4 current (10 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Auditor:** Williambuck
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC41510) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-10-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-04-25
- Rating: computed 2026-10-01
- This document generated: 2026-10-04

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-kawerau-iwi-tribal-authority
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-kawerau-iwi-tribal-authority/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-kawerau-iwi-tribal-authority/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC41510

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-kawerau-iwi-tribal-authority. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-10-04T19:50:57.987Z.