# Te Kainga Atawhai Housing Limited

**Charities Register number:** CC58778
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2021-03-18
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** Tuakau
**NZBN:** 9429048467827
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

1. To promote cultural education by providing wananga,waiata,karanga, te reo and history generally, but particularly of Ngapuhi. 2. To promote rehabilitation of former prisoners by providing programmes to improve self esteem by promoting understanding of tikanga and whakapapa. 3. To promote education by providing scholarships for tertiary studies 4. To relieve the conditions of elderly, provide relief to those in poverty, youth at risk and others in charitable need. 5. To promote employment

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — The charity type has not been classified yet, so no scoring template applies and the grade is withheld.
- **Status code:** `unclassified`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 1
  - staff costs above the methodology threshold

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$1.18M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$1.39M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-211k
- **Total assets:** NZ$22.76M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$6.12M
- **Net assets:** NZ$16.63M
- **Staff costs:** NZ$212k
- **Paid staff:** 1
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=68b12fb5-c10e-f011-bb41-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-03-31 | NZ$1.18M | NZ$1.39M | NZ$-211k | NZ$16.63M |
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$4.60M | NZ$920k | NZ$3.68M | NZ$16.85M |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$2.74M | NZ$263k | not disclosed | NZ$13.19M |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$7.00M | NZ$113k | not disclosed | NZ$10.71M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 3 current (4 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Paid executives disclosed:** 6
- **Executive remuneration bands:** under NZ$100k

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC58778) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-11
- This document generated: 2026-09-11

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-kainga-atawhai-housing-limited
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-kainga-atawhai-housing-limited/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-kainga-atawhai-housing-limited/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC58778

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-kainga-atawhai-housing-limited. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-11T11:18:19.314Z.