# Te Aute Trust Board Incorporated

**Charities Register number:** CC50280
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2014-02-20
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Auckland
**NZBN:** 9429042863274
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

The charitable purpose is for the advancement of education for children in New Zealand, principally for girls and boys of New Zealand Maori descent.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** A- (89.5 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 100/100
- **Governance:** 65/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-10-01 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2024-12-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$19.54M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$6.33M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$13.21M
- **Total assets:** NZ$67.96M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$5.41M
- **Net assets:** NZ$62.55M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$28.29M
- **Donations:** NZ$1.78M
- **Paid staff:** 18
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Reporting tier:** Tier2
- **Financial report audited:** yes
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=7c2855f9-05c8-ef11-bb3d-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024-12-31 | NZ$19.54M | NZ$6.33M | NZ$13.21M | NZ$62.55M |
| 2023-12-31 | NZ$5.63M | NZ$7.35M | not disclosed | NZ$13.09M |
| 2022-12-31 | NZ$2.16M | NZ$5.55M | not disclosed | NZ$5.01M |
| 2021-12-31 | NZ$1.10M | NZ$4.45M | not disclosed | NZ$-12.15M |
| 2020-12-31 | NZ$918k | NZ$3.79M | not disclosed | NZ$-10.55M |
| 2019-12-31 | NZ$1.42M | NZ$4.17M | not disclosed | NZ$-10.81M |
| 2018-12-31 | NZ$1.46M | NZ$4.10M | not disclosed | NZ$-10.53M |
| 2017-12-31 | NZ$1.49M | NZ$3.85M | not disclosed | NZ$-10.54M |
| 2016-12-31 | NZ$1.47M | NZ$3.95M | not disclosed | NZ$-10.72M |
| 2015-12-31 | NZ$5.13M | NZ$4.48M | not disclosed | NZ$10.94M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 7 current (14 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Paid executives disclosed:** 9
- **Auditor:** BDO Auckland
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC50280) and on the charity's profile page.

## Service providers

- BDO — auditor

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-10-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-10-01
- This document generated: 2026-10-02

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-aute-trust-board-incorporated
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-aute-trust-board-incorporated/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-aute-trust-board-incorporated/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC50280
- Charity website: https://www.tatb.co.nz

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-aute-trust-board-incorporated. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-10-02T10:16:29.974Z.