# Te Arawa Kapa Charitable Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC41643
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2009-08-03
**Sector:** Arts & Culture
**ICNPO group:** Culture and Recreation
**Region:** Rotorua
**NZBN:** 9429043120970
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To promote and facilitate excellence in kapahaka development in Te Arawa rohe

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** B (79.7 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 86/100
- **Governance:** 65/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-10-01 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$1.33M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$1.41M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-79k
- **Total assets:** NZ$254k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$92k
- **Net assets:** NZ$162k
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$254k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$0
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=2ba16d85-4d56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$1.33M | NZ$1.41M | NZ$-79k | NZ$162k |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$1.46M | NZ$1.30M | NZ$160k | NZ$242k |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$270k | NZ$213k | NZ$57k | NZ$10 |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$34k | NZ$102k | not disclosed | NZ$25k |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$233k | NZ$349k | not disclosed | NZ$93k |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$312k | NZ$140k | not disclosed | NZ$210k |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$57k | NZ$71k | not disclosed | NZ$38k |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$272k | NZ$270k | not disclosed | NZ$53k |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$30k | NZ$33k | not disclosed | NZ$51k |
| 2015-06-30 | NZ$50k | NZ$203k | NZ$-154k | NZ$47k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 11 current (19 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Auditor:** Cookson Forbes Chartered Accountants
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC41643) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **One Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$12k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-10-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-10-01
- This document generated: 2026-10-02

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-arawa-kapa-charitable-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-arawa-kapa-charitable-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-arawa-kapa-charitable-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC41643

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-arawa-kapa-charitable-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-10-02T08:08:23.390Z.