# Te Ara Poutama AEC Charitable Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC27251
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Auckland
**NZBN:** 9429043087907
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To provide a safe learning environment so students alienated from mainstream schooling can discover their strengths and talents while learning new skills, gaining motivation, self-discipline and improving self-esteem. Pedagogical alternatives for preparing students to make the transition from school to further training or work have been examined and set into six key components needed for successful transitions. These key components included coordinated, non-fragmented services; strong education-business partnerships resulting in work experience; relevance in the learning process through linkage of instruction and work; early and continuing career counseling and guidance; Programme accountability to students and community; and a wide range of career/employment options available upon completion of transition services. Four desired outcomes for participants of this Programme are described and include connecting theory with practice, developing personal and career maturity, gaining persona

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Reports under the Tier 3/4 regime with limited disclosure and no detected red flags.
- **Status code:** `limited_disclosure`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2026-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$842k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$891k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-50k
- **Total assets:** NZ$300k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$24k
- **Net assets:** NZ$276k
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$87k
- **Government grants:** NZ$838k (99.6% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$1k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$524k
- **Paid staff:** 10
- **Reporting tier:** Tier3
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=1fbc6599-922d-f111-bb51-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-03-31 | NZ$842k | NZ$891k | NZ$-50k | NZ$276k |
| 2025-03-31 | NZ$843k | NZ$824k | NZ$20k | NZ$326k |
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$825k | NZ$702k | NZ$123k | NZ$306k |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$703k | NZ$657k | not disclosed | NZ$184k |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$672k | NZ$509k | not disclosed | NZ$137k |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$754k | NZ$711k | not disclosed | NZ$107k |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$862k | NZ$854k | not disclosed | NZ$74k |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$930k | NZ$913k | not disclosed | NZ$107k |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$876k | NZ$953k | not disclosed | NZ$123k |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$793k | NZ$752k | not disclosed | NZ$158k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 3 current
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Auditor:** Kudos Murray Audit Ltd
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC27251) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$15k, year ended 2024-03-31
- **Grassroots Trust Limited** (foundation) — NZ$13k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Four Winds Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$13k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$8k, year ended 2022-03-31
- **The Trusts Community Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$1k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-ara-poutama-aec-charitable-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-ara-poutama-aec-charitable-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-ara-poutama-aec-charitable-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC27251
- Charity website: https://www.tapaec.ac.nz

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-ara-poutama-aec-charitable-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T11:32:01.041Z.