# Te Ara Moana Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC53800
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2016-08-21
**Sector:** Arts & Culture
**ICNPO group:** Culture and Recreation
**Region:** Porirua
**NZBN:** 9429043272228
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To provide outdoor water skills and safety programs for young people, to improve their self confidence and resilience and to widen their options for healthy recreational activities.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — The filed financial data is incomplete or internally inconsistent, so a score would not be meaningful.
- **Status code:** `insufficient_data`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2026-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$132k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$99k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$32k
- **Total assets:** not disclosed
- **Total liabilities:** not disclosed
- **Net assets:** not disclosed
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$61k
- **Donations:** NZ$60
- **Staff costs:** NZ$80k
- **Paid staff:** 5
- **Reporting tier:** Tier4
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=06f47120-912d-f111-bb51-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-03-31 | NZ$132k | NZ$99k | NZ$32k | not disclosed |
| 2025-03-31 | NZ$128k | NZ$93k | NZ$35k | not disclosed |
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$58k | NZ$111k | NZ$-53k | not disclosed |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$62k | NZ$94k | NZ$-32k | NZ$75k |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$105k | NZ$77k | not disclosed | NZ$42k |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$79k | NZ$71k | not disclosed | NZ$82k |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$85k | NZ$69k | not disclosed | NZ$74k |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$37k | NZ$22k | not disclosed | NZ$58k |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$70k | NZ$49k | not disclosed | NZ$43k |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$49k | NZ$39k | not disclosed | NZ$35k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 4 current (12 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC53800) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Trust House Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$10k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Pelorus Trust** (foundation) — NZ$7k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-24
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-27
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-30

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-ara-moana-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-ara-moana-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-ara-moana-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC53800

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-ara-moana-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-30T17:18:30.458Z.