# Te Aitanga a Mahaki Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC39534
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Community Development
**Region:** Gisborne
**NZBN:** 9429042837923
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To receive, hold, manage and administer the Trust Fund for every charitable purpose benefiting Te Aitanga a Mahaki and for every charitable purpose benefiting Maori who are not members of Te Aitanga a Mahaki and members of the community generally.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** D (48.5 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 70/100
- **Governance:** 65/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-10 (methodology 3.6)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 1
  - trustees holding many concurrent board roles

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2024-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$2.79M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$2.54M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$247k
- **Total assets:** NZ$7.83M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$3.37M
- **Net assets:** NZ$4.46M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$2.36M
- **Donations:** NZ$45k
- **Paid staff:** 35
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Reporting tier:** Tier3
- **Financial report audited:** yes
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=ef0873ed-7a37-ef11-bb33-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$2.79M | NZ$2.54M | NZ$247k | NZ$4.46M |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$105k | NZ$190k | not disclosed | NZ$-351k |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$4.86M | NZ$5.32M | not disclosed | NZ$3.23M |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$2.13M | NZ$975k | not disclosed | NZ$1.58M |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$446k | NZ$625k | not disclosed | NZ$327k |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$361k | NZ$4k | not disclosed | NZ$157k |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$595k | NZ$0 | not disclosed | NZ$3.04M |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$186k | NZ$143k | not disclosed | NZ$72k |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$97k | NZ$103k | not disclosed | NZ$28k |
| 2015-06-30 | NZ$138k | NZ$140k | not disclosed | NZ$313k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 39 current (75 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC39534) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-04-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-10
- This document generated: 2026-09-10

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-aitanga-a-mahaki-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-aitanga-a-mahaki-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/te-aitanga-a-mahaki-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC39534
- Charity website: https://mahaki.iwi.nz

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/te-aitanga-a-mahaki-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-10T14:39:51.141Z.