# Tawhiri Limited

**Charities Register number:** CC56703
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2019-05-10
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Wellington
**NZBN:** 9429047009028
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To establish, organise, promote and maintain artistic and cultural events, including arts festivals for the educational benefit of the citizens of New Zealand to be centred and staged in Wellington

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — This charity is not currently rated.
- **Status code:** `group_member`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2022-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$2.50M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$2.41M
- **Surplus / deficit:** not disclosed
- **Total assets:** NZ$1.34M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$1.10M
- **Net assets:** NZ$242k
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$502k
- **Donations:** NZ$175k
- **Paid staff:** 17
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Financial report audited:** yes
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=891dac69-0cf9-ec11-bb15-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$2.50M | NZ$2.41M | not disclosed | NZ$242k |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$2.30M | NZ$2.10M | not disclosed | NZ$141k |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$2.22M | NZ$2.28M | not disclosed | NZ$-60k |

## Group consolidated filing

This charity is part of **Tawhiri Group**, which files a consolidated return. For the year ended 2025-06-30 the group reported revenue of NZ$4.71M and expenses of NZ$3.90M.

Where a member files an empty individual return, the group figures are where the activity sits.

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 8 current (19 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Auditor:** Deloitte Limited
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC56703) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **The Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$10k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Grassroots Trust Central Limited** (foundation) — NZ$4k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-23
- Financials: last updated 2026-04-28
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-29

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/tawhiri-limited
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/tawhiri-limited/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/tawhiri-limited/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC56703

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/tawhiri-limited. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-29T16:49:06.703Z.