# Tauranga Environment Centre Charitable Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC26580
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-24
**Sector:** Environment
**ICNPO group:** Environment
**Region:** Tauranga
**NZBN:** 9429043084586
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To promote environmental sustainability. We do this by: 1) Facilitating a regional network 2) Advocating for environmental sustainability 3) Promoting sustainable living 4) Providing a hub for environmental and sustainable groups

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Reports under the Tier 3/4 regime with limited disclosure and no detected red flags.
- **Status code:** `limited_disclosure`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$772k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$705k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$67k
- **Total assets:** NZ$534k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$204k
- **Net assets:** NZ$331k
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$391k
- **Donations:** NZ$16k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$438k
- **Paid staff:** 8
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=78d8f9be-4c56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$772k | NZ$705k | NZ$67k | NZ$331k |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$726k | NZ$698k | NZ$28k | NZ$264k |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$996k | NZ$946k | not disclosed | NZ$236k |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$1.12M | NZ$1.11M | not disclosed | NZ$186k |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$520k | NZ$483k | not disclosed | NZ$175k |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$328k | NZ$355k | not disclosed | NZ$138k |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$345k | NZ$288k | not disclosed | NZ$165k |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$231k | NZ$186k | not disclosed | NZ$108k |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$263k | NZ$264k | not disclosed | NZ$63k |
| 2016-03-31 | NZ$225k | NZ$175k | not disclosed | NZ$63k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 6 current (38 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Auditor:** REAL Chartered Accountants
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC26580) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Pub Charity Limited** (foundation) — NZ$63k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$20k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **The Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$10k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/tauranga-environment-centre-charitable-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/tauranga-environment-centre-charitable-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/tauranga-environment-centre-charitable-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC26580

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/tauranga-environment-centre-charitable-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T21:35:34.105Z.