# Tararua Reap (Rural Education Activities Programme)

**Charities Register number:** CC10748
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2007-08-02
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Dannevirke
**NZBN:** 9429051644154
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Tararua REAP is an Incorporated Society and registered charity with a clearly defined organisational structure purposely designed to achieve positive outcomes within the Tararua District. Tararua REAP’s cooperative and collaborative philosophy ensures programmes, resources and services are based on filling gaps in the community through innovation. Over time the emphasis and focus of Tararua REAP has changed in response to Government priorities and to meet changing needs of our community. What has not changed is our prime objective to provide education programmes and support services and that enhance both the individuals within our communities and the communities themselves. Tararua REAP is unique in its role as a provider, facilitator and broker of lifelong learning opportunities for the communities of the Tararua district. From 1 January 2024 Tararua REAP has undergone an entity change and novated from an Incorporated Society to a Charitable Trust, with business as usual.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Reports under the Tier 3/4 regime with limited disclosure and no detected red flags.
- **Status code:** `limited_disclosure`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-12-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$1.09M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$1.09M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-8k
- **Total assets:** NZ$647k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$147k
- **Net assets:** NZ$500k
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$197k
- **Government grants:** NZ$805k (74.2% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$0
- **Staff costs:** NZ$789k
- **Paid staff:** 12
- **Reporting tier:** Tier3
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=9fa73d2a-d8e6-f011-bb4e-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-31 | NZ$1.09M | NZ$1.09M | NZ$-8k | NZ$500k |
| 2024-12-31 | NZ$1.16M | NZ$1.19M | not disclosed | NZ$508k |
| 2023-12-31 | NZ$1.22M | NZ$1.24M | not disclosed | NZ$545k |
| 2022-12-31 | NZ$1.23M | NZ$1.26M | not disclosed | NZ$567k |
| 2021-12-31 | NZ$1.14M | NZ$1.05M | not disclosed | NZ$595k |
| 2020-12-31 | NZ$889k | NZ$747k | not disclosed | NZ$501k |
| 2019-12-31 | NZ$617k | NZ$647k | not disclosed | NZ$359k |
| 2018-12-31 | NZ$691k | NZ$615k | not disclosed | NZ$388k |
| 2017-12-31 | NZ$670k | NZ$674k | not disclosed | NZ$312k |
| 2016-12-31 | NZ$678k | NZ$681k | not disclosed | NZ$316k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 7 current (29 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Auditor:** BDO Manawatu
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC10748) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Pub Charity Limited** (foundation) — NZ$1k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Aotearoa Gaming Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$1k, year ended 2023-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-29

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/tararua-reap-rural-education-activities-programme
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/tararua-reap-rural-education-activities-programme/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/tararua-reap-rural-education-activities-programme/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC10748
- Charity website: http://www.tararuareap.co.nz

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/tararua-reap-rural-education-activities-programme. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-29T00:06:48.988Z.