# Taranaki Foundation

**Charities Register number:** CC51935
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2015-05-22
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** New Plymouth
**NZBN:** 9429043306060
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Purpose: To inspire a culture of giving and sharing in Taranaki. Mission & Vision: To empower stronger communities through impactful giving, driven by our donor-led approach. We do this by inspiring a culture of generosity, ensuring a thriving Taranaki for generations to come. Values: Integrity | Inclusive | Kaitiakitanga | Belief | Leadership | Collaborative.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** C (63.8 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 77.5/100
- **Governance:** 65/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 1
  - trustees holding many concurrent board roles

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$6.87M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$185k
- **Surplus / deficit:** not disclosed
- **Total assets:** NZ$12.45M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$758k
- **Net assets:** NZ$11.70M
- **Donations:** NZ$6.87M
- **Paid staff:** 6
- **Volunteers:** 0

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$6.87M | NZ$185k | not disclosed | NZ$11.70M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$4.01M | NZ$407k | not disclosed | NZ$6.71M |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$3.00M | NZ$337k | not disclosed | NZ$3.38M |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$1.27M | NZ$363k | not disclosed | NZ$2.12M |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$465k | NZ$197k | not disclosed | NZ$1.16M |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$278k | NZ$204k | not disclosed | NZ$906k |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$250k | NZ$205k | not disclosed | NZ$805k |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$397k | NZ$108k | not disclosed | NZ$742k |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$379k | NZ$110k | not disclosed | NZ$475k |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$325k | NZ$99k | not disclosed | NZ$218k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 10 current (25 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Auditor:** Tandem Group Limited
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC51935) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **New Zealand Community Trust** (foundation) — NZ$1.00M, year ended 2021-12-31

## Service providers

- Silks Audit — auditor

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-23
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-29

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/taranaki-foundation
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/taranaki-foundation/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/taranaki-foundation/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC51935

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/taranaki-foundation. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-29T22:24:23.815Z.