# Talk Link Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC23025
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-04-15
**Sector:** Animal Welfare
**Region:** Auckland
**NZBN:** 9429042835417
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To enable all people with communication impairments to interact and participate to their full potential. This is achieved through the provision of communication assistive technology tools and strategies

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** D+ (52.3 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 61.1/100
- **Governance:** 65/100
- **Transparency:** 85/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 1
  - trustees holding many concurrent board roles

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$5.68M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$5.65M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$30k
- **Total assets:** NZ$1.86M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$531k
- **Net assets:** NZ$1.33M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$885k
- **Government grants:** NZ$0 (0.0% of revenue)
- **Staff costs:** NZ$4.12M
- **Paid staff:** 59
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=e18fcd9c-4a56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$5.68M | NZ$5.65M | NZ$30k | NZ$1.33M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$5.44M | NZ$5.42M | NZ$28k | NZ$1.30M |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$4.94M | NZ$5.01M | not disclosed | NZ$1.27M |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$4.72M | NZ$4.26M | not disclosed | NZ$1.33M |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$4.15M | NZ$4.15M | not disclosed | NZ$872k |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$3.86M | NZ$3.68M | not disclosed | NZ$871k |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$3.41M | NZ$3.53M | not disclosed | NZ$691k |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$3.39M | NZ$3.52M | not disclosed | NZ$707k |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$3.36M | NZ$3.42M | not disclosed | NZ$843k |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$3.26M | NZ$3.20M | not disclosed | NZ$908k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 7 current (20 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Paid executives disclosed:** 2
- **Executive remuneration bands:** NZ$300k–500k
- **Auditor:** Charity Integrity Audit Ltd
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC23025) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Pub Charity Limited** (foundation) — NZ$64k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$60k, year ended 2027-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$60k, year ended 2023-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$50k, year ended 2026-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$50k, year ended 2025-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$50k, year ended 2024-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$40k, year ended 2022-03-31
- **Aotearoa Gaming Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$40k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$36k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Four Winds Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$35k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-24
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/talk-link-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/talk-link-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/talk-link-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC23025
- Charity website: http://www.talklink.org.nz

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/talk-link-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T00:38:05.607Z.