# Surf Life Saving New Zealand Manatōpū Incorporated

**Charities Register number:** CC38280
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Arts & Culture
**ICNPO group:** Culture and Recreation
**Region:** Lower Hutt
**NZBN:** 9429042956587
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

SLSNZ is established and maintained exclusively for the charitable purpose of benefitting the community by saving lives and ensuring the safety of the community at the beach and on the water throughout New Zealand by providing lifesaving,patrol services, and other programmes and services. Any income . benefit or advantage must be used to advance the charitable purposes of SLSNZ.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** A- (89.5 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 100/100
- **Governance:** 65/100
- **Transparency:** 85/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-12 (methodology 3.8)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$38.09M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$37.00M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$1.09M
- **Total assets:** NZ$20.86M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$11.72M
- **Net assets:** NZ$9.14M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$14.76M
- **Government grants:** NZ$21.56M (56.6% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$749k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$11.80M
- **Paid staff:** 91
- **Volunteers:** 1
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=a70263a9-4d56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$38.09M | NZ$37.00M | NZ$1.09M | NZ$9.14M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$27.91M | NZ$27.23M | NZ$671k | NZ$7.97M |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$22.55M | NZ$21.32M | not disclosed | NZ$4.71M |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$20.28M | NZ$20.16M | not disclosed | NZ$3.48M |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$18.99M | NZ$18.37M | not disclosed | NZ$3.36M |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$11.20M | NZ$10.57M | not disclosed | NZ$2.74M |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$10.99M | NZ$10.61M | not disclosed | NZ$2.34M |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$10.35M | NZ$9.96M | not disclosed | NZ$1.95M |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$9.54M | NZ$9.44M | not disclosed | NZ$1.56M |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$8.86M | NZ$8.59M | not disclosed | NZ$1.45M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 7 current (35 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Auditor:** Moore Markhams Wellington Audit
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC38280) and on the charity's profile page.

## Service providers

- Moore Markham — auditor

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-12
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-12
- This document generated: 2026-09-12

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/surf-life-saving-new-zealand-manatopu-incorporated
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/surf-life-saving-new-zealand-manatopu-incorporated/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/surf-life-saving-new-zealand-manatopu-incorporated/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC38280

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/surf-life-saving-new-zealand-manatopu-incorporated. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-12T13:10:06.312Z.