# Student Association of The Nelson-Marlborough Institute of Technology Incorporated

**Charities Register number:** CC10690
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2007-07-25
**Sector:** Arts & Culture
**ICNPO group:** Culture and Recreation
**Region:** Nelson
**NZBN:** 9429043018239
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To provide resources, advice, information and advocacy support, and employment information services to student members. To provide activities which foster the social and recreational life of student members.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — The charity type has not been classified yet, so no scoring template applies and the grade is withheld.
- **Status code:** `unclassified`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-12-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$595k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$697k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-101k
- **Total assets:** NZ$844k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$53k
- **Net assets:** NZ$792k
- **Government grants:** NZ$395k (66.3% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$0
- **Staff costs:** NZ$567k
- **Paid staff:** 10
- **Reporting tier:** Tier3

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-31 | NZ$595k | NZ$697k | NZ$-101k | NZ$792k |
| 2024-12-31 | NZ$637k | NZ$724k | NZ$-87k | NZ$699k |
| 2023-12-31 | NZ$696k | NZ$706k | NZ$-10k | NZ$980k |
| 2022-12-31 | NZ$622k | NZ$642k | not disclosed | NZ$990k |
| 2021-12-31 | NZ$508k | NZ$495k | not disclosed | NZ$1.01M |
| 2020-12-31 | NZ$445k | NZ$473k | not disclosed | NZ$997k |
| 2019-12-31 | NZ$420k | NZ$398k | not disclosed | NZ$1.03M |
| 2018-12-31 | NZ$442k | NZ$465k | not disclosed | NZ$1.00M |
| 2017-12-31 | NZ$459k | NZ$423k | not disclosed | NZ$1.03M |
| 2016-12-31 | NZ$412k | NZ$349k | not disclosed | NZ$992k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 3 current (19 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Auditor:** NMA Nelson Marlborough Audit Ltd
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC10690) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-12
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-11
- Rating: computed 2026-09-12
- This document generated: 2026-09-12

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/student-association-of-the-nelson-marlborough-institute-of-technology-incorporated
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/student-association-of-the-nelson-marlborough-institute-of-technology-incorporated/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/student-association-of-the-nelson-marlborough-institute-of-technology-incorporated/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC10690

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/student-association-of-the-nelson-marlborough-institute-of-technology-incorporated. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-12T21:20:20.060Z.